Vote for the David Gemmell Awards for Fantasy

Have you ever seen the nominees for a major science fiction or fantasy award, and wished that you could have a say Gemmell-covers-21in who won, but weren’t a member of the organization parceling out the votes?  If so, here’s your chance!

David Gemmell was a bestselling British fantasy writer who wrote over 30 novels and is considered one of the leading authors of heroic fantasy.  He originally aspired to be a writer of historical fiction, intrigued by stories that evoked elements of tragedy (such as the Battle of the Alamo and the fate of Scottish independence icon William Wallace of Braveheart fame).  His themes included “honour and loyalty, advancing age, lost causes and the possibility of redemption for even the most corrupt.”  His debut novel, Legend, is considered a classic in the fantasy genre.

In his honor, the David Gemmell Awards for Fantasy were established to “restore fantasy to its proper place in the literary pantheon”, and unlike most other awards, they are decided by an open public vote.  The Legend Award is given to the year’s best fantasy title, the Morningstar Award to the year’s best fantasy debut, and the Ravenheart Award is given for the best fantasy book cover art – all determined by YOU!

The shortlists for the 2015 David Gemmell Awards for Fantasy were announced on June 1, and fans of the genre have until midnight on Friday, July 17 to vote.  The shortlists include:

Legend Award (best fantasy work)

  • Half a King by Joe Abercrombie
  • Valour by John Gwynne
  • Prince of Fools by Mark Lawrence
  • Words of Radiance by Brandon Sanderson
  • The Broken Eye by Brent Weeks

Morningstar Award (best debut fantasy work)

Ravenheart Award (best fantasy book cover art)

  • Laura Brett for The Slow Regard of Silent Things
  • Mike Bryan for Half a King
  • Jason Chan for Prince of Fools
  • Sam Green for Words of Radiance
  • Jackie Morris for The Fool’s Assassin


You can vote for your choice for the any or all of the awards at the David Gemmell Awards for Fantasy website (and also see the covers for the art nominated for the Ravenheart Award).  The winners will be announced on Saturday, August 8 at the Nine Worlds Geekfest in London.

Remember to vote by July 17th!  The winners are in your hands!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.