Litstack Rec: The Refugees: Stories & Nightwise

Published on :

The Refugees: Stories, by Viet Thanh Nguyen May is Short Story Month, a great time to celebrate the short story, and the perfect opportunity to share some favorite Litstack recs of story collections, contemporary and classic. If you’re a fan of The Sympathizer, Viet Nguyen’s debut novel that won the Pulitzer Prize in 2016, you’ll [….]

Our 2018 Favorite Reads

Published on :

From my reading of the past year, some favorites—here a memoir-in-essays and three story collections. How to Write an Autobiographical Novel: Essays by Alexander Chee “Writing is a way of going to the depth of Being,” wrote Marguerite Yourcenar, and in the sixteen essays that make up Alexander Chee’s 2018 memoir, the author dives deep, [….]

Litstack Recs: The Refugees & All the Light We Cannot See

Published on :

The Refugees: Stories, by Viet Thanh Nguyen In celebration of #ShortStoryMonth, this week’s rec looks at another great story collection I’ve read and recommended this year. Fans of The Sympathizer, Nguyen’s debut novel that won the Pulitzer Prize in 2016, will find much of what they loved in the author’s second book of short stories. [….]

Litstack Rec: The Refugees: Stories & All Our Wrong Todays

Published on :

The Refugees: Stories, by Viet Thanh Nguyen Fans of The Sympathizer, Nguyen’s debut novel that won the Pulitzer Prize in 2016, will find much of what they loved in the author’s second book of short stories. Where The Sympathizer explores the effects of the Vietnamese War, and the experience of refugees’ displacement through the taut [….]

2016 Pulitzer Prizes Announced

Published on :

The Pulitzer Prizes are awarded annually for achievement in newspaper and online journalism, literature and musical composition in the United States.  They were established in 1917 by provisions in the will of Hungarian born Joseph Pulitzer, the esteemed publisher of the New York World and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch.  They are administered by Columbia University. This [….]