LitStack Rec: Barbarian Days & Alif the Unseen

Published on :

Barbarian Days: A Surfing Life, by William Finnegan William Finnegan’s 2016 memoir begins with an epigraph from Edward St. Aubyn’s novel Mother’s Milk: “He had become so caught up in building sentences  that he had almost forgotten  the barbaric days when thinking was like a splash of colour landing on a page.” It’s a fitting [….]

Litstack Rec: The Refugees & The Hummingbird

Published on :

The Refugees: Stories, by Viet Thanh Nguyen Fans of The Sympathizer, Nguyen’s debut novel that won the Pulitzer Prize in 2016, will find much of what they loved in the author’s second book of short stories. Where The Sympathizer explores the effects of the Vietnamese War, and the experience of refugees’ displacement through the taut [….]

Litstack Rec: The Goldfinch & Doctor Sleep

Published on :

The Goldfinch, by Donna Tartt The reception Donna Tartt garnered for her third novel—it washer first in twelve years—was called a phenomenon and won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 2014 (among other honors). The story centers on the childhood and youth of Theo Decker, an ordinary boy living in New York City with his mother, until [….]

Gimbling in the Wabe – “The Journey” by Mary Oliver

Published on :

For the final Gimbling in the Wabe of this year’s National Poetry Month, I am highlighting a poet who, to me, epitomizes the music that swells inside of us, that is both deeply personal and yet encompasses the omniscience of the beauty and solace of the natural world: Mary Oliver. Winner of both the Pulitzer [….]

2017 Pulitzer Prize Winners Announced

Published on :

On Monday, the 170th anniversary of the birth of benefactor Joseph Pulitzer, the 2017 winners of the Pulitzer Prizes were announced. Established 100 years ago in 1917, winning a Pulitzer Prize still stands as one of the most coveted honors for those in journalism and the arts. While 14 of the 21 Pulitzer categories covered [….]

LitStack Rec: Barbarian Days & A Taste of Honey

Published on :

Barbarian Days: A Surfing Life, by William Finnegan William Finnegan’s 2016 memoir begins with an epigraph from Edward St. Aubyn’s novel Mother’s Milk: He had become so caught up in building sentences  that he had almost forgotten  the barbaric days  when thinking was like a splash of colour landing on a page. It’s a fitting [….]

2016 Pulitzer Prizes Announced

Published on :

The Pulitzer Prizes are awarded annually for achievement in newspaper and online journalism, literature and musical composition in the United States.  They were established in 1917 by provisions in the will of Hungarian born Joseph Pulitzer, the esteemed publisher of the New York World and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch.  They are administered by Columbia University. This [….]

Gimbling in the Wabe – Trash and Treasure

Published on :

I will be the first to admit that I walk slowly.  I don’t even really walk – I stroll.  It’s been years since my husband and I have walked side by side:  he’s always moving, rushing, in motion, whereas I tend to amble; he gets there, I get there eventually.  It’s just the way it [….]

Charles Wright Announced as New US Poet Laureate

Published on :

On Thursday, June 12, the Library of Congress announced that Charles Wright would be this year’s poet laureate.  (In the United States, the poet laureate position lasts a year – sometimes two – and has few official duties other than overseeing a series of readings and lectures at the Library of Congress, and generally promoting [….]

Gimbling in the Wabe – A Story Unto Themselves

Published on :

Recently, I’ve started helping out at LitStack with their new “Literary Birthday” feature, where from Monday – Friday, a small blurb announces a little something about a writer whose birthday occurs on that day.  It’s been fun doing a tiny bit of research on lots of authors, poets, journalists, and other writers that I never [….]