Litstack Recs: The Refugees & All the Light We Cannot See

Published on :

The Refugees: Stories, by Viet Thanh Nguyen In celebration of #ShortStoryMonth, this week’s rec looks at another great story collection I’ve read and recommended this year. Fans of The Sympathizer, Nguyen’s debut novel that won the Pulitzer Prize in 2016, will find much of what they loved in the author’s second book of short stories. [….]

2016 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction Longlist Announced

Published on :

On Tuesday – International Women’s Day – the longlist for the Baileys Woman’s Prize for Fiction was announced.  The British prize, now in its 10th year, celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in women’s writing from throughout the world. Works on the longlist include: A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson Rush Oh! by Shirley Barrett [….]

LitStack Rec: Bridge & A Tale for the Time Being

Published on :

Bridge, by Robert Thomas “Welcome to the prayer-strewn pews of my brain,” Alice, the narrator of Bridge tells us, and quickly, we understand that this intellectually gifted young woman sees the world, and herself, in unconventional, and often dangerous ways. Robert Thomas’s powerful debut novel, published by BOA Editions in October, takes place in fifty-six [….]

Announcing the Finalists for the 2014 Kirkus Prize

Published on :

The Kirkus Prize is one of the richest literary awards in the world, with a prize of $50,000 bestowed annually to authors of fiction, non-fiction and young readers’ literature. It was created to celebrate the 81 years of discerning, thoughtful criticism Kirkus Reviews has contributed to both the publishing industry and readers at large. Books that earned [….]

Gimbling in the Wabe – Miserable Fiction

Published on :

I was reading a book the other day.  It was a very good book, extremely well written, very imaginative.  The images it evoked were sharp and emotive; it was clear what the author was trying to convey, her motives unfolded sensibly and organically.  This particular book had been very well reviewed in my local paper, [….]

Writing in a Dandelion Future

Published on :

From the Guardian UK: According to Neil Gaiman, writers should be less mammalian. But can you build a literary career by casting your work into the wind? The Guardian UK published a piece on the varying changes in publishing, prompted by their hosting of Neil Gaiman’s podcast on the site.  A combination of the podcast [….]

LitStaff Pick: Celebrating Females of Fiction

Published on :

Recently, there has been quite the hoopla surrounding what many are calling the sexist and obligatory “good ole boys” response to the gender issues in SciFi and Fantasy fiction. More specifically, the  SciFi and Fantasy Writers of America’s (SFWA) response to a controversial cover of the organization’s Bulletin that was seen as sexist and unprofessional [….]

Coming to the Stacks: New Deals for February 2013

Published on :

Fiction Romance Writers of America Golden Heart winner Anne Barton’s next two Regency-set historical romances in the Honeycote family series, again to Selina McLemore at Forever, by Helen Breitwieser at Cornerstone Literary (World). ________________________________________________________ Christine Woodward’s ROGUE TOUCH, to Elisabeth Dyssegaard at Hyperion, by Peter Steinberg at The Steinberg Agency‘s Package Store division (World). ________________________________________________________ [….]

Our Favorite Anti-Damsels

Published on :

If fairytales are to be believed, then every little girl awaits her knight in shining armor. Unless, of course, you live outside of 1952. Fiction, really great fiction, disrupts stereotypes, subverts the models of common acceptance and asks that simple truths be revealed; that is why these types of stories are among our favorites. This [….]

TRADER OF SECRETS by Steve Martini

Published on :

Trader of Secrets Steve Martini William Morrow ISBN-13: 978-0-06-193023-2 ▬ᴥ▬ Steve Martini’s Trader of Secrets is the 12th book in the Paul Madriani series.  In Martini’s latest, attorney Paul Madriani and his law partner, Harry Hinds find themselves pursuing a killer who is determined to kill them as well as Paul’s daughter Sarah. Trader of [….]