2021 British Fantasy Awards

We here at LitStack love all books, but some of us have a special place in our hearts for fantasy fiction. On September 26th, the 2021 British Fantasy Awards were presented by the British Fantasy Society (BFS) at their annual Fantasycon convention, held this year in Birmingham.

Here are the shortlisted nominees, and the winners of the 2021 Awards:

Best Newcomer (The Sydney J. Bounds Award)

  • WINNER:  Kathleen Jennings, for Flyaway (Tordotcom)
  • Tiffani Angus, for Threading the Labyrinth (Unsung Stories)
  • Dan Coxon, for Green Fingers & Only the Broken Remain (Black Shuck Books)
  • Sean Hogan, for England’s Screaming (PS Publishing) and Three Mothers, One Father (Black Shuck Books)
  • Simon Jimenez, for The Vanished Birds (Titan)
  • Rym Kechacha, for Dark River (Unsung Stories)

Best Film / Television Production

  • WINNER:  The Boys: What I Know (Season 2, episode 8)
  • Birds of Prey
  • The Haunting of Bly Manor: The Romance of Certain Old Clothes (Season 1, episode 8)
  • The Invisible Man
  • The Lighthouse
  • Saint Maud

Best Non-Fiction

  • WINNER:  Women Make Horror: Filmmaking, Feminism, Genre, ed. Alison Peirse (Rutgers University Press)
  • The Full Lid, Alasdair Stuart, ed. Marguerite Kenner
  • It’s the End of the World: But What Are We Really Afraid Of?, Adam Roberts (Elliot & Thompson)
  • Notes from the Borderland, Lynda E. Rucker (in “Black Static”, TTA Press)
  • Ties that Bind: Love in Fantasy and Science Fiction, ed. Francesca T Barbini (Luna Press Publishing)
  • The Unstable Realities of Christopher Priest, Paul Kincaid (Gylphi Limited)

Best Artist

  • WINNER:  Daniele Serra
  • Warwick Fraser-Coombe
  • David Rix
  • Vincent Sammy

Best Comic / Graphic Novel

  • WINNER:  DIE Vol. 2: Split the Party, Kieron Gillen and Stephanie Hans (Image Comics)
  • The Daughters of Ys, Jo Rioux & M.T. Andersen (First Second)
  • John Constantine: Hellblazer, Vol. 1: Marks of Woe, Simon Spurrier and Aaron Campbell (DC Comics)
  • The Magic Fish, Trung Le Nguyen (Random House Graphic)
  • Rivers of London: The Fey and the Furious, Ben Aaronovitch and Andrew Cartmell (Titan)
  • Venus in the Blind Spot, Junji Ito (VIZ Media LLC)

Best Magazine / Periodical

  • WINNER: Strange Horizons
  • Black Static
  • The Dark
  • Ginger Nuts of Horror
  • Shoreline of Infinity

Best Independent Press

  • WINNER:  Luna Press Publishing
  • Black Shuck Books
  • Flame Tree Press
  • Unsung Stories

Best Audio

  • WINNER:  The Magnus Archives, Rusty Quill
  • Breaking the Glass Slipper, Megan Leigh, Lucy Hounson and Charlotte Bond
  • PodCastle, Escape Artists
  • PseudoPod, Escape Artists
  • The Sandman, Dirk Maggs and Neil Gaiman (Audible Originals)
  • Stellar Firma, Rusty Quill

Best Anthology

  • WINNER:  Dominion: An Anthology of Speculative Fiction from Africa and the African Diaspora, ed. Zelda Knight and Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki (Aurelia Leo)
  • After Sundown, ed. Mark Morris (Flame Tree Press)
  • Black Cranes: Tales of Unquiet Women, ed. Lee Murray and Geneve Flynn (Omnium Gatherum Media)
  • Shadows & Tall Trees, Vol. 8, ed. Michael Kelly (Undertow Publications)

Best Short Fiction

  • WINNER:  Infinite Tea in the Demara Café, Ida Keogh (in “London Centric: Tales of Future London”, Newcon Press)
  • 8-Bit Free Will, John Wiswell (in PodCastle 654, Escape Artists)
  • Daylight Robbery, Anna Taborska (in “Bloody Britain”, Shadow Publishing)
  • We Do Like to be Beside, Pete Sutton (in “Alchemy Press Book of Horrors 2”, Alchemy Press)

Best Collection

  • WINNER:  The Watcher in the Woods, Charlotte Bond (Black Shuck Books)
  • Bloody Britain, Anna Taborska (Shadow Publishing)
  • Only the Broken Remain, Dan Coxon (Black Shuck Books)
  • We All Hear Stories in the Dark, Robert Shearman (PS Publishing)

Best Novella

  • WINNER:  Ring Shout, P. Djèlí Clark (Tordotcom)
  • The Flame and the Flood, Shona Kinsella (Fox Spirit)
  • Honeybones, Georgina Bruce (TTA Press)
  • The Order of the Pure Moon Reflected in Water, Zen Cho (Tordotcom)
  • A Song for the End, Kit Power (Horrific Tales Publishing)
  • Triggernometry, Stark Holborn (Rattleback Books)

Best Horror Novel (The August Derleth Award)

  • WINNER:  Mexican Gothic, Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Jo Fletcher Books)
  • Beneath the Rising, Premee Mohamed (Rebellion)
  • The Hollow Places, T. Kingfisher (Titan)
  • The Only Good Indians, Stephen Graham Jones (Titan)
  • Plain Bad Heroines, Emily Danforth (The Borough Press)
  • Survivor Song, Paul Tremblay (Titan)

Best Fantasy Novel (The Robert Holdstock Award)

  • WINNER:  The Once and Future Witches, Alix E. Harrow (Orbit)
  • The Bone Shard Daughter, Andrea Stewart (Orbit)
  • By Force Alone, Lavie Tidhar (Head of Zeus)
  • The City We Became, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit)
  • Dark River, Rym Kechacha (Unsung Stories)
  • Threading the Labyrinth, Tiffani Angus (Unsung Stories)

Karl Edward Wagner Award (for important contribution to the genre or the Society) was awarded by the BFS committee to Alasdair Stuart

Congratulations to all!

About Post Author