10 December, 2022

Shirley Jackson Award Winners Announced

The 2013 Shirley Jackson Awards were presented on Sunday, July 13th, 2014 at Readercon 25 Shirley Jackson Awards logoin Burlington, Massachusetts.  These awards are given out in recognition of outstanding achievement in the literature of “psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic” as voted upon by a jury of professional writers, editors, critics, and academics.

According to the Awards’ website, “Shirley Jackson (1916-1965) wrote such classic novels as The Haunting of Hill House and We Have Always Lived in the Castle, as well as one of the most famous short stories in the English language, ‘The Lottery.’ Her work continues to be a major influence on writers of every kind of fiction, from the most traditional genre offerings to the most innovative literary work.”

The finalists and winning entries are:


  • Winner:  American Elsewhere, Robert Jackson Bennett
  • The Accursed, Joyce Carol Oates
  • The Demonologist, Andrew Pyper
  • The Ghost Bride, Yangsze Choo
  • Night Film, Marisha Pessl
  • Wild Fell, Michael Rowe


  • Winner:  Burning Girls, Veronica Schanoes
  • Children of No One, Nicole Cushing
  • Helen’s Story, Rosanne Rabinowitz
  • It Sustains, Mark Morris
  • “The Gateway,” Nina Allan
  • The Last Revelation of Gla’aki, Ramsey Campbell
  • Whom the Gods Would Destroy, Brian Hodge


  • Winner:  Cry Murder! In a Small Voice, Greer Gilman
  • “A Little of the Night,” Tanith Lee
  • “My Heart is Either Broken,” Megan Abbott
  • “Phosphorus,” Veronica Schanoes
  • “Raptors,” Conrad Williams


  • Winner:  “57 Reasons for the Slate Quarry Suicides,” Sam J. Miller
  • “Furnace,” Livia Llewellyn
  • “The Memory Book,” Maureen McHugh
  • “The Statue in the Garden,” Paul Park
  • “That Tiny Flutter of the Heart,” Robert Shearman
  • “The Traditional,” Maria Dahvana Headley


  • Two Winners:  Before and Afterlives, Christopher Barzak and North American Lake Monsters, Nathan Ballingrud
  • Everything You Need, Michael Marshall Smith
  • In Search of and Others, Will Ludwigsen
  • The Story Until Now, Kit Reed


Congratulations to all the nominees, and to the winners!