Nebula Award Winners Announced

The winners of the 2014 Nebula Awards, as well as the Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation and the Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy, were announced Saturday in a ceremony in Chicago, Illinois, hosted by Nick Offerman.  Voted on by the active members of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA), this marks the 49th year that the awards have been handed out.

This year that nominees and winners are:

Best Novel

  • WINNER: Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer
  • The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison
  • Trial by Fire by Charles E. Gannon
  • Ancillary Sword by Ann Leckie
  • The Three-Body Problem by Cixin Liu, translated by Ken Liu
  • Coming Home by Jack McDevitt


Best Novella

  • WINNER: Yesterday’s Kin by Nancy Kress
  • We Are All Completely Fine by Daryl Gregory
  • “The Regular” by Ken Liu (Upgraded)
  • “The Mothers of Voorhisville” by Mary Rickert (com 4/30/14)
  • Calendrical Regression by Lawrence Schoen
  • “Grand Jeté (The Great Leap)” by Rachel Swirsky (Subterranean Summer ’14)


Best Novelette

  • WINNER: “A Guide to the Fruits of Hawai’i” by Alaya Dawn Johnson (F&SF 7-8/14)
  • “Sleep Walking Now and Then” by Richard Bowes (com 7/9/14)
  • “The Magician and Laplace’s Demon” by Tom Crosshill (Clarkesworld 12/14)
  • “The Husband Stitch” by Carmen Maria Machado (Granta #129)
  • “We Are the Cloud” by Sam J. Miller (Lightspeed 9/14)
  • “The Devil in America” by Kai Ashante Wilson (com 4/2/14)


Best Short Story

  • WINNER: “Jackalope Wives” by Ursula Vernon (Apex 1/7/14)
  • “The Breath of War” by Aliette de Bodard (Beneath Ceaseless Skies 3/6/14)
  • “When It Ends, He Catches Her” by Eugie Foster (Daily Science Fiction 9/26/14)
  • “The Meeker and the All-Seeing Eye” by Matthew Kressel (Clarkesworld 5/14)
  • “The Vaporization Enthalpy of a Peculiar Pakistani Family” by Usman T. Malik (Qualia Nous)
  • “A Stretch of Highway Two Lanes Wide” by Sarah Pinsker (F&SF 3-4/14)
  • “The Fisher Queen” by Alyssa Wong (F&SF 5/14)


Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation

  • WINNER: Guardians of the Galaxy, written by James Gunn and Nicole Perlman
  • Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), written by Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr. and Armando Bo
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier, screenplay by Christopher Markus and Stephen McFeely
  • Edge of Tomorrow, screenplay by Christopher McQuarrie, Jez Butterworth and John-Henry Butterworth
  • Interstellar, written by Jonathan Nolan and Christopher Nolan
  • The Lego Movie, screenplay by Phil Lord and Christopher Miller


Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy

  • WINNER: Love Is the Drug by Alaya Dawn Johnson
  • Unmade by Sarah Rees Brennan
  • Salvage by Alexandra Duncan
  • Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future by A.S. King
  • Dirty Wings by Sarah McCarry
  • Greenglass House by Kate Milford
  • The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.