National Book Awards Shortlists Announced

The lists have been pared down from ten to five!  Here are the shortlists for the National Book Awards:


  • Karen E. Bender for Refund: Stories
  • Angela Flournoy for The Turner House
  • Lauren Groff for Fates and Furies
  • Adam Johnson for Fortune Smiles: Stories
  • Hanya Yanagihara for A Little Life



  • Ta-Nehisi Coates for Between the World and Me
  • Sally Mann for Hold Still
  • Sy Montgomery for The Soul of an Octopus
  • Carla Power for If the Oceans Were Ink: An Unlikely Friendship and a Journey to the Heart of the Quran
  • Tracy K. Smith for Ordinary Light



  • Ross Gay for Catalog of Unabashed Gratitude
  • Terrance Hayes for How to Be Drawn
  • Robin Coste Lewis for Voyage of the Sable Venus
  • Ada Limón for Bright Dead Things
  • Patrick Phillips for Elegy for a Broken Machine


Young People’s Literature:

  • Ali Benjamin for The Thing About Jellyfish
  • Laura Ruby for Bone Gap
  • Steve Sheinkin for Most Dangerous: Daniel Ellsberg and the Secret History of the Vietnam War
  • Neal Shusterman for Challenger Deep
  • Noelle Stevenson for Nimona


The winners will be announced on November 18, 2015 at a ceremony in New York City.  Winners receive $10,000 and a bronze statue (and of course, a lot of publicity!); finalists receive $1,000 and a bronze medal.

Congratulations to all!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.