Finalists of the 2015 Kirkus Prize Announced

Founded in 1933, Kirkus has been “an authoritative voice in book discovery for 80 years”.  The associated  Kirkus Reviews magazine gives industry professionals a sneak peek at the most notable books prior to their publication kirkus-prize-2015-170x170date, and releases book reviews to consumers on a weekly basis.  The Kirkus Star icon affixed to selected reviews signifies books of exceptional merit.

The annual Kirkus Prize is one of the richest literary awards in the world, with a payout of $50,000 to the winner of each of three categories.  Books that earned the Kirkus Star with a publication date between November 1, 2014 and October 31, 2015 were automatically nominated for the 2015 Kirkus Prize.

The lists of books with Kirkus Starred reviews have been pared down to six finalists in each category.  These finalists include:


  • The Incarnations by Susan Barker
  • A Manual for Cleaning Women by Lucia Berlin
  • Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff
  • The Story of My Teeth by Valeria Luiselli
  • The Book of Aron by Jim Shepard
  • A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara



  • Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates
  • Whirlwind: The American Revolution and the War that Won It by John Ferling
  • H Is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald
  • The Deluge: The Great War, America and the Remaking of the Global Order, 1916-1931 by Adam Tooze
  • Pacific: Silicon Chips and Surfboards, Coral Reefs and Atom Bombs, Brutal Dictators, Fading Empires, and the Coming Collision of the World’s Superpowers by Simon Winchester
  • The Invention of Nature: Alexander von Humboldt’s New World by Andrea Wulf


Young Readers’ Literature

  • The New Small Person by Lauren Child
  • Lillian’s Right to Vote: A Celebration of the Voting Rights Act of 1965 by Jonah Winter, illustrated by Shane W. Evans
  • Echo by Pam Muñoz Ryan
  • Funny Bones: Posada and His Day of the Dead Calaveras by Duncan Tonatiuh
  • The Game of Love and Death by Martha Brockenbrough
  • Shadowshaper by Daniel José Older


The winners will be announced on October 15, 2015.  Congratulations to all the finalists, and indeed, to all the authors of Kirkus Starred Reviews!

%d bloggers like this: