Finalists for the Man Booker International Prize Announced

The Man Booker International Prize – not to be confused with the annual Man Booker Prize – isMan Booker International Prize awarded every two years to a living author who has published fiction either originally in English or whose work is generally available in translation in the English language.  Established in 2005, the International Prize considers an author’s entire body of work, rather than a single work of fiction.

This year’s shortlist for the Man Booker International Prize includes:

  • César Aira (Argentina)
  • Hoda Barakat (Lebanon)
  • Maryse Condé (Guadeloupe)
  • Mia Couto (Mozambique)
  • Amitav Ghosh (India)
  • Fanny Howe (USA)
  • Ibrahim al-Koni (Libya)
  • László Krasznahorkai (Hungary)
  • Alain Mabanckou (Republic of Congo)
  • Marlene van Niekerk (South Africa)

The winner is chosen solely at the discretion of the judging panel without entertaining submissions from publishers.  Past winners include Lydia Davis, Philip Roth, Alice Munro, Chinua Achebe and Ismail Kadaré.

At Tuesday’s announcement of the list of finalists, Manny Roman, CEO of Man Group, commented:

“We are very proud to sponsor the Man Booker International Prize, recognising the hard work and creativity of these talented authors and translators. The prize underscores Man Group’s charitable focus on literacy and education, as well as our commitment to excellence and entrepreneurship. Together with the wider charitable activities of the Booker Prize Foundation, the prize plays a very important role in promoting literary excellence that we are honoured to support. It’s exciting to see finalists from ten countries, with six nationalities included on the list for the first time, further broadening Man Booker’s international reach. Many congratulations to all the finalists.”

The winner will be announced at a ceremony in London on May 19, 2015.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.