9 December, 2022

Finalists for the Bram Stoker Awards Announced

This week the Horror Writers Association (HWA), the premier organization of writers and publishers of horror and StokerCon-logo-red-whitedark fantasy, announced the nominees for the 2015 Bram Stoker Awards.  The awards, named after the author of the horror masterpiece, Dracula, are given annually to works that exhibit superior writing in the horror genre.

The nominees include:

Superior Achievement in a Novel

  • The Scarlet Gospels by Clive Barker
  • The Deep by Michaelbrent Collings
  • The Cure by JG Faherty
  • Black Tide by Patrick Freivald
  • A Head Full of Ghosts by Paul Tremblay


Superior Achievement in a First Novel

  • Shutter by Courtney Alameda
  • Suicide by Nicole Cushing
  • We Are Monsters by Brian Kirk
  • Hannahwhere by John McIlveen
  • Riding the Centipede by John Claude Smith


Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel

  • Never Let Me Sleep by Jennifer Brozek
  • The Ridealong by Michaelbrent Collings
  • Devil’s Pocket by John Dixon
  • Hallowed by Tonya Hurley
  • The Shadow Cabinet by Maureen Johnson
  • End Times at Ridgemont High by Ian Welke


Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel

  • Harrow County, Vol. 1: Countless Haints by Cullen Bunn
  • Hellbound by Victor Gischler
  • Outcast, Vol. 1: A Darkness Surrounds Him by Robert Kirkman
  • Wytches, Vol. 1 by Scott Snyder
  • Shadow Show: Stories in Celebration of Ray Bradbury by Sam Weller, Mort Castle, Chris Ryall and Carlos Guzman (editors)


Superior Achievement in Long Fiction

  • “Paper Cuts” by Gary A. Braunbeck (Seize the Night)
  • The Box Jumper by Lisa Mannetti
  • “Special Collections” by Norman Partridge (The Library of the Dead)
  • “Little Dead Red” by Mercedes M. Yardley (Grimm Mistresses)
  • “Becoming Invisible, Becoming Seen” by Scott Edelman (Dark Discoveries #30)


Superior Achievement in Short Fiction

  • “All the Day You’ll Have Good Luck” by Kate Jonez (Black Static #47)
  • The Algernon Effect by Gene O’Neill
  • “Happy Joe’s Rest Stop” by John Palisano (18 Wheels of Horror)
  • “Sing Me Your Scars” by Damien Angelica Walters (Sing Me Your Scars)
  • “Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers” by Alyssa Wong (Nightmare Magazine #37)


Superior Achievement in a Screenplay

  • Guillermo del Toro and Matthew Robbins for Crimson Peak
  • John Logan for Penny Dreadful: “And Hell Itself My Only Foe”
  • John Logan for Penny Dreadful: Nightcomers
  • David Robert Mitchell for It Follows
  • Taika Waititi and Jemaine Clement for What We Do in the Shadows


Superior Achievement in an Anthology

  • The Library of the Dead, edited by Michael Bailey
  • The Doll Collection: Seventeen Brand-New Tales of Dolls, edited by Ellen Datlow
  • Seize the Night, edited by Christopher Golden
  • nEvermore!, edited by Nancy Kilpatrick and Caro Soles
  • The X-Files: Trust No One, edited by Jonathan Maberry
  • Midian Unmade, edited by Joseph Nassise and Del Howison


Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection

  • Halfway Down the Stairs by Gary A. Braunbeck
  • The Mirrors by Nicole Cushings
  • The Dark at the End of the Tunnel by Taylor Grant
  • The Hitchhiking Effect by Gene O’Neill
  • While the Black Stars Burn by Lucy A. Snyder


Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction

  • The Unique Legacy of Weird Tales: The Evolution of Modern Fantasy and Horror, edited by Justin Everett and Jeffrey H. Shanks
  • The Art of Horror by Stephen Jones
  • Author’s Guide to Marketing with Teeth by Michael Knost
  • Horror 201: The Silver Scream, edited by Joe Mynhardt and Emma Audsley
  • Studies in the Horror Film: Stanley Kubrick’s The Shining by Danel Olson


Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

  • Resonance Dark and Light by Bruce Boston
  • Eden Underground by Alessandro Manzetti
  • Dark Energies by Ann Schwader
  • Naughty Ladies by Marge Simon
  • An Exorcism of Angels by Stephanie M. Wytovich


The Bram Stoker Awards will be handed out on May 14 in the first ever StokerCon to be held on Las Vegas, Nevada.

Congratulations to all the nominees!