Finalists for the 2016 John W. Campbell Memorial Award Announced

The John W. Campbell Memorial Award was created to honor the late editor of Astounding Science Fiction magazine, now named Analog. Campbell, who edited the magazine from 1937 until his death in 1971, is called by many writers and scholars the father of modern science fiction. Writers and critics Harry Harrison and Brian W. Aldiss established the award in Campbell’s name as a way of continuing his efforts to encourage writers to produce their best possible work.

Astounding Science Fiction

The juried award is given to the best science fiction novel of the previous year, published in English.  The finalists for the 2016 John W. Campbell Memorial Award are:

  • The Water Knife by Paolo Bacigalupi
  • Europe at Midnight by Dave Hutchinson
  • Radiomen by Eleanor Lerman
  • Luna: New Moon by Ian McDonald
  • Galapagos Regained by James Morrow
  • Going Dark by Linda Nagata
  • The Book of Phoenix by Nnedi Okorafor
  • Where by Kit Reed
  • The Thing Itself by Adam Roberts
  • Aurora by Kim Stanley Robinson
  • Seveneves by Neal Stephenson


The winner will be announced on Thursday, August 18, 2016 at MidAmericon II, the 74th World Science Fiction Convention, to be held in Kansas City MO, August 17-21, 2016.

Congratulations to all the nominees!


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.