Final Ballot for 2014 Bram Stoker Awards Announced

The Horror Writers’ Association (“the premier organization of writers and publishers of horrorBram Stoker Awards logo and dark fantasy”) has just announced the final ballot for the 2014 Bram Stoker Awards (named after the author of the incredibly influential 1897 gothic horror novel, Dracula).  The nominees for the final ballot were voted in by current and lifetime members of the HWA, who will also select this year’s winners.

Additionally, the HWA has bestowed their Lifetime Achievement Award to Jack Ketchum (The Lost, The Girl Next Door, I’m Not Sam, Red, etc.) and Tanith Lee (the Flat-Earth Cycle, Death’s Master, Quest for the White Witch, “Red as Blood”, etc.)

The winners of the Bram Stoker Awards will be announced on May 9, during the World Horror Convention in Atlanta, Georgia.

Superior Achievement in a Novel

  • Craig DiLouie – Suffer the Children
  • Patrick Freivald – Jade Sky
  • Chuck Palahniuk – Beautiful You
  • Christopher Rice – The Vines
  • Steve Rasnic Tem – Blood Kin

Superior Achievement in a First Novel

  • Maria Alexander –  Wicker
  • D. Barker – Forsaken
  • David Cronenberg – Consumed
  • Michael Knost – Return of the Mothman
  • Josh Malerman – Bird Box

Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel

  • Jake Bible – Intentional Haunting
  • John Dixon – Phoenix Island
  • Kami Garcia – Unmarked (The Legion Series Book 2)
  • Tonya Hurley – Passionaries
  • Peter Adam Salomon – All Those Broken Angels

Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel

  • Emily Carroll – Through the Woods
  • Joe Hill – Locke and Key, Vol. 6
  • Joe R. Lansdale and Daniele Serra – I Tell You It’s Love
  • Jonathan Maberry – Bad Blood
  • Paul Tobin – The Witcher

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction

  • Taylor Grant – “The Infected” (Cemetery Dance#71)
  • Eric J. Guignard – “Dreams of a Little Suicide” (Hell Comes to Hollywood II: Twenty-Two More Tales of Tinseltown Terror, Volume 2)
  • Joe R. Lansdale – “Fishing for Dinosaurs” (Limbus, Inc., Book II)
  • Jonathan Maberry – “Three Guys Walk into a Bar” (Limbus, Inc., Book II)
  • Joe McKinney – “Lost and Found” (Limbus, Inc., Book II)

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction

  • Hal Bodner – “Hot Tub” (Hell Comes to Hollywood II: Twenty-Two More Tales of Tinseltown Terror, Volume 2)
  • Sydney Leigh – “Baby’s Breath” (Bugs: Tales That Slither, Creep, and Crawl)
  • Usman T. Malik – “The Vaporization Enthalpy of a Peculiar Pakistani Family” (Qualia Nous)
  • Rena Mason – “Ruminations” (Qualia Nous)
  • John Palisano – “Splinterette” (Widowmakers: A Benefit Anthology of Dark Fiction)
  • Damien Angelica Walters – “The Floating Girls: A Documentary” (Jamais Vu, Issue Three)

Superior Achievement in a Screenplay

  • Scott M. Gimple – The Walking Dead: “The Grove”
  • Jennifer Kent – The Babadook
  • John Logan – Penny Dreadful: “Séance”
  • Steven Moffat – Doctor Who: “Listen”
  • James Wong – American Horror Story: Coven: “The Magical Delights of Stevie Nicks”

Superior Achievement in an Anthology

  • Michael Bailey – Qualia Nous
  • Jason V Brock – A Darke Phantastique
  • Ellen Datlow – Fearful Symmetries
  • Chuck Palahniuk, Richard Thomas, and Dennis Widmyer – Burnt Tongues
  • Brett J. Talley – Limbus, Inc., Book II

Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection

  • Stephen Graham Jones – After the People Lights Have Gone Off
  • John R. Little – Little by Little
  • Helen Marshall – Gifts for the One Who Comes After
  • Lucy Snyder – Soft Apocalypses
  • John F.D. Taff – The End in All Beginnings

Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction

  • Jason V Brock – Disorders of Magnitude
  • T. Joshi – Lovecraft and a World in Transition
  • Leslie S. Klinger – The New Annotated H.P. Lovecraft
  • Joe Mynhardt and Emma Audsley – Horror 101: The Way Forward
  • Lucy Snyder – Shooting Yourself in the Head For Fun and Profit: A Writer’s Survival Guide

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

  • Robert Payne Cabeen – Fearworms: Selected Poems
  • Corrinne De Winter and Alessandro Manzetti – Venus Intervention
  • Tom Piccirilli – Forgiving Judas
  • Marge Simon and Mary Turzillo – Sweet Poison
  • Stephanie Wytovich – Mourning Jewelry

Congratulations to all the finalists!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.