Costa Book Awards Shortlist Announced

costa awards 2015 sl

The Costa Book Awards are a set of annual literary awards recognizing English-language books by writers based in Britain and Ireland.  The awards, which have been handed out since 1972, are given both for high literary merit but also for works that are enjoyable reading and whose aim is to convey the enjoyment of reading to the widest possible audience. As such, they are a more populist literary prize than the Booker Prize.

The Costa Awards are also unique in that a winner is named in each category, and then of those winners, the overall best book is declared the Costa Book of the Year.  It is the only major literary award where children’s books are judged “alongside” adult literary works.

The shortlists for the 2015 Costa Book Awards have been announced, and they include:


  • A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson
  • The Green Road by Anne Enright
  • A Place Called Winter by Patrick Gale
  • At Hawthorn Time by Melissa Harrison



  • Spill Simmer Falter Wither by Sara Baume
  • The Girl in the Red Coat by Kate Hamer
  • The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley
  • Things We Have in Common by Tasha Kavanagh



  • The Story of Alice: Lewis Carroll and the Secret History of Wonderland by Robert Douglas-Fairhurst
  • The House by the Lake by Thomas Harding
  • John Aubrey: My Own Life by Ruth Scurr
  • The Invention of Nature: The Adventures of Alexander Von Humboldt, The Lost Hero of Science by Andrea Wulf



  • Physical by Andrew McMillan
  • The Observances by Kate Miller
  • 40 Sonnets by Don Paterson
  • Talking Dead by Neil Rollinson



  • The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge
  • Sophie Someone by Hayley Long
  • An Island of Our Own by Sally Nicholls
  • Jessica’s Ghost by Andrew Norriss


The Costa Book Award winners will be announced on January 4, 2016, with the Book of the Year announcement made on January 26.

Congratulations to all the nominees!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.