22 October, 2021

Complete List of World Fantasy Award Nominees Announced

Along with Monday’s announcement of their Lifetime Achievement Award going to editor Charles Vessextraordinaire Ellen Datlow and author Chelsea Quinn Yarbro, the World Fantasy Convention – an annual convention of professionals, collectors, and others interested in the field of fantasy – has released its list of nominees for the 2014 World Fantasy Awards.  The winners will be announced at the beginning of November during the Convention, which will be held in Arlington, Virginia.  Guests of Honor this year will be Guy Gavriel Kay, Les Edwards and Stuart David Schiff, with Special Guest Lail Findlay; Mary Robinette Kowal will be Toastmaster.  Sounds like fun!

Here is the list of announced winners and nominees:

Life Achievement Winners

Ellen Datlow
Chelsea Quinn Yarbro



  • Andy Duncan & Ellen Klages, “Wakulla Springs”
  • Caitlín R. Kiernan, Black Helicopters
  • KJ Parker, “The Sun and I”
  • Veronica Schanoes, “Burning Girls”
  • Catherynne M. Valente, Six-Gun Snow White

Short Story

  • Thomas Olde Heuvelt, “The Ink Readers of Doi Saket”
  • Caitlín R. Kiernan, “The Prayer of Ninety Cats”
  • Yoon Ha Lee, “Effigy Nights”
  • Sofia Samatar, “Selkie Stories Are for Losers”
  • Rachel Swirsky, “If You Were a Dinosaur, My Love”


  • Kate Bernheimer, ed., xo – Orpheus: Fifty New Myths
  • Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling, eds. – Queen Victoria’s Book of Spells: An Anthology of Gaslamp Fantasy
  • Stephen Jones, ed. – Flotsam Fantastique: The Souvenir Book of World Fantasy Convention 2013
  • George R.R. Martin and Gardner Dozois, eds. – Dangerous Women
  • Jonathan Oliver, ed. – End of the Road: An Anthology of Original Short Stories
  • Jonathan Strahan, ed. – Fearsome Journeys: The New Solaris Book of Fantasy


  • Nathan Ballingrud, North American Lake Monsters: Stories
  • Laird Barron, The Beautiful Thing That Awaits Us All and Other Stories
  • Caitlín R. Kiernan, The Ape’s Wife and Other Stories
  • Reggie Oliver, Flowers of the Sea
  • Rachel Swirsky, How the World Became Quiet: Myths of the Past, Present, and Future


Special Award—Professional

Special Award—Non-professional

  • Scott H. Andrews, for Beneath Ceaseless Skies
  • Marc Aplin, for Fantasy-Faction
  • Kate Baker, Neil Clarke & Sean Wallace, for Clarkesworld
  • Leslie Howle, for Clarion West administration
  • Jerad Walters, for Centipede Press

Congratulations to all the nominees!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.