Ever wonder what you’ve got to look forward to?

Has your favorite author inked a deal to bring their books to the screen?

In this segment, we give you the details, from Publisher’s Marketplace on all the new titles (or films and series) that will land on your bookshelves or the big screen in the future.

SOURCE

FANTASY/SCI-FI

Veronica Roth’s novella ARCH-CONSPIRATOR, pitched as a retelling of Antigone in which the last society left on Earth edits the genes of the dead in order to endure the environment’s toxicity, to Lindsey Hall at Tor, at auction, in a three-book deal, for publication in winter 2023, by Joanna Volpe at New Leaf Literary & Media

Veronica Roth

Debut author Davinia Evans’s NOTORIOUS SORCERER, an adventure fantasy set in a city powered by heavily regulated alchemy, in which a petty alchemist from the slums discovers he may be his city’s only to hope to survive almost certain destruction, to Nivia Evans at Orbit, in a good deal, in an exclusive submission, in a three-book deal, for publication in fall 2022, by Kurestin Armada at Root Literary (world English).

Scientist Robert Lanza and Nebula and Hugo Award-winning author Nancy Kress’s OBSERVER, pitched in the vein of THE SPACE BETWEEN WORLDS meets CONTACT, about a disgraced neurosurgeon who, in a bid to save her career and her sickly sister, must confront mysteries in the space between biology and consciousness to answer the question: If we can alter the structure of reality, should we?, to Lou Aronica at The Story Plant, by Michael Signorelli at Aevitas Creative Management (NA).


YOUNG ADULT

Julie Lowman’s LEAVING US, pitched as inspired by the One Love Foundation, in which an outwardly confident but inwardly a mess 16-year-old attempts to numb her grief from the loss of her mother with the ecstasy of first love; however, her first love comes with an unpredictable temper, a minefield she navigates daily; when she finally breaks up with him, he sets his sights on revenge, to Shawn Reilly Simmons at Level Best, in a nice deal, for publication in March 2023, by Cindy Bullard at Birch Literary (world).

Alison Schaffir’s YOUR DREAM FOR ME, in which a 17-year-old who dreams of becoming a fashion designer sneaks into her school’s costume shop, coming face-to-face with a talented theater student who piques a new interest; her designs are unfolding, but a distressing event shakes everyone in her world and she relies on her determined spirit to keep her dreams from unraveling, to Shawn Reilly Simmons at Level Best, in a nice deal, for publication in March 2023, by Cindy Bullard at Birch Literary (world).

Traci L. Jones | Regis University
Tracie L. Jones

Winner of the 2007 Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe new talent award Traci L Jones’s RANSOMING THE CAPTIVE, which explores a girl’s emotional journey as she struggles with the grief and survivor’s guilt of her best friend’s tragic death, to Reagan Rothe at Black Rose Writing, for publication in July 2022, by Amy Brewer at Metamorphosis Literary Agency.


ROMANCE

Annie Rains’s THROUGH THE SNOW GLOBE, pitched as It’s A Wonderful Life meets Groundhog Day, in which the magic of the holidays swirls through one woman’s life as she seeks to have just a little more time with the person she loves most, just in time for Christmas, to Shannon Plackis at Kensington, in a very nice deal, in a three-book deal, by Sarah Younger at Nancy Yost Literary Agency (world).

Author of the forthcoming A BRUSH WITH LOVE Mazey Eddings’s PINING, a queer holiday rom-com featuring a down-on-her-luck 20-something who wins the lottery and impulsively buys a tree farm to escape her ex, but instead of solitude she finds a grumpy woman claiming she inherited the property, causing sparks to fly as they fight for the disastrously romantic farm, to Eileen Rothschild at St. Martin’s, by Wendy Sherman Associates.

Author of the forthcoming THE HEART OF THE DEAL Lindsay MacMillan’s DOUBLE-DECKER DREAMS, in which an American consultant in London falls in love at first sight with a man on a double-decker bus, who doesn’t end up being the English prince of her dreams after all, to Faith Black Ross at Alcove Press, by Abby Saul at The Lark Group (world).


GENERAL FICTION

Brianna Labuskes’s THE LIBRARIAN OF BURNED BOOKS, pitched for fans of Kate Quinn and Julia Kelly, about three women who believe in the power of books to triumph over the very darkest moments of war, based on the true story of the Council of Books in Wartime, the World War II organization founded by booksellers, publishers, librarians, and authors to use books as “weapons in the war of ideas,” to Tessa Woodward at William Morrow, in a significant deal, at auction, in a two-book deal, by Abby Saul at The Lark Group (world).

Author of TEMPORARY and finalist for the NYPL Young Lions Fiction Award Hilary Leichter’s TERRACE STORY, following the seismic chain of events set off when a couple and their young daughter discover a terrace that occasionally materializes in their small apartment’s closet; and THE QUARTER CENTURY SONGBOOK, an elegy for a vanishing city landscape, pitched as part Damon Runyon and part THE WILD PARTY, tracing the trajectory of a Manhattan restaurant that only appears for one raucous night every 25 years before disappearing at the break of dawn, to Gabriella Doob at Ecco, at auction, in a two-book deal, by Monika Woods at Triangle House Literary.

World Fantasy Award-winning novelist Jonathan Carroll’s MR. BREAKFAST, in which a man gets an enigmatic tattoo that allows him to experience three very different versions of how his future will play out, and must ultimately decide which path he wants his life to take, to Carl Bromley at Melville House, by Valentina Sainato and Joshua Bilmes at JABberwocky Literary Agency, in association with John Berlyne at Zeno Agency (world English).


FILM RIGHTS

YOUNG CAPTAIN NEMO author Jason Henderson’s 18 MILES FROM TOWN, pitched as Die Hard with a dad bod, about a writer on an isolated farm whose retreat is interrupted by rekindled romance and a gang of thrill-killers, to Nadine Schiff at Hope Springs Entertainment, in a nice deal, with Henderson to write the first treatment and serve as executive producer (world).

Fiona King Foster’s THE CAPTIVE, a rural noir set in a secessionist state, about a mother on an expedition to deliver a dangerous fugitive, traveling miles in the woods with her family in tow—and forced to confront her own past along the journey, to March Forth Media, with the

Fiona King Foster – HarperCollins
Fiona King Foster

author, Etan Muskat, and Josh Bowman (Revenge) to adapt, and Bowman to direct, by Joseph Veltre at The Gersh Agency, on behalf of Martha Webb and Paige Sisley at CookeMcDermid.

Katherine Stewart’s THE POWER WORSHIPPERS: INSIDE THE DANGEROUS RISE OF RELIGIOUS NATIONALISM, optioned to Warner Brothers, with Rob Reiner to produce and Dan Partland to direct, by Hotchkiss Daily and Associates, on behalf of The Stuart Agency.