“Children of Time” Wins 2016 Arthur C. Clarke Award

arthur c clarke award squaredBritish author Adrian Tchaikovsky has won the Arthur C Clarke Award for his science fiction novel Children of Time.

The juried award was set up in 1987 with a generous grant from Sir Arthur C. Clarke, a giant in the science fiction genre; a few of his works include 2001: A Space Odyssey, Childhood’s End, Rendezvous with Rama, and The Fountains of Paradise.  It is given annually for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year.

The shortlist for this year’s award included six very well received science fiction works:

  • The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet – Becky Chambers
  • Europe at Midnight – Dave Hutchinson
  • The Book of Phoenix – Nnedi Okorafor
  • Arcadia – Iain Pears
  • Way Down Dark – J.P. Smythe
  • Children of Time – Adrian Tchaikovsky

Children of Time

Andrew M Butler, Chair of Judges, said of this year’s process, “Choosing a winner for the Arthur C. Clarke Award doesn’t get any easier after thirty years. The judges were passionate about all six shortlisted titles and it was tough to narrow down to one book. Adrian Tchaikovsky’s Children of Time tells two parallel stories of the last survivors of Earth and the inhabitants of a terraformed planet – it takes the reader’s sympathies and phobias, and plays with them masterfully on an epic and yet human scale.”  Award Director Tom Hunter added, “Children of Time has a universal scale and sense of wonder reminiscent of the novels of Sir Arthur C. Clarke himself, combined with one of the best science fictional extrapolations of a not-so-alien species and their evolving society I’ve ever read.”

High praise, indeed.

Congratulations to Adrian Tchaikovsky and all the nominated authors!

About Post Author