Aurealis Award Winners Announced

The Aurealis Awards logoAurealis Awards recognize the best of Australia’s science fiction, fantasy and horror writing for adults, young adults and children.  The winners of the 2014 Aurealis Awards were announced on April 11.  Below is a list of the nominees and the winners:

Best Fantasy Novel

  • Winner: Dreamer’s Pool by Juliet Marillier
  • Fireborn by Keri Arthur
  • This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner
  • The Lascar’s Dagger by Glenda Larke
  • Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld
  • Daughters of the Storm by Kim Wilkins

Best Fantasy Short Story

  • Winner: “St Dymphna’s School for Poison Girls” by Angela Slatter (The Review of Australian Fiction, Volume 9, Issue 3)
  • “The Oud” by Thoraiya Dyer (Long Hidden)
  • “Teratogen” by Deborah Kalin (Cemetery Dance, #71, May 2014)
  • “The Ghost of Hephaestus” by Charlotte Nash (Phantazein)
  • “The Badger Bride” by Angela Slatter (Strange Tales IV)

Best Science Fiction Novel

  • Winner: Peacemaker by Marianne de Pierres
  • Aurora: Meridian by Amanda Bridgeman
  • Nil By Mouth by LynC
  • The White List by Nina D’Aleo
  • This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner
  • Foresight by Graham Storrs

Best Science Fiction Short Story

  • Winner: “Wine, Women and Stars” by Thoraiya Dyer (Analog CXXXIV #s 1 & 2 Jan/Feb)
  • “The Executioner Goes Home” by Deborah Biancotti (Review of Australian Fiction, Volume 11, Issue 6)
  • “The Glorious Aerybeth” by Jason Fischer (OnSpec, September 11, 2014)
  • “Dellinger” by Charlotte Nash (Use Only As Directed)
  • “Happy Go Lucky” by Garth Nix (Kaleidoscope)

Best Horror Novel

  • Winner: Razorhurst by Justine Larbalestier
  • Book of the Dead by Greig Beck
  • Obsidian by Alan Baxter

Best Horror Short Story

  • Winner: “Home and Hearth” by Angela Slatter
  • “The Executioner Goes Home” by Deborah Biancotti (Review of Australian Fiction, Volume 11, Issue 6)
  • “Skinsuit” by James Bradley (Island Magazine 137)
  • “By the Moon’s Good Grace” by Kirstyn McDermott (Review of Australian Fiction, Volume 12, Issue 3)
  • “Shay Corsham Worsted” by Garth Nix (Fearful Symmetries)

Best Young Adult Novel

  • Winner: The Cracks in the Kingdom by Jaclyn Moriarty
  • The Astrologer’s Daughter by Rebecca Lim
  • Afterworld by Lynnette Lounsbury
  • Clariel by Garth Nix
  • The Haunting of Lily Frost by Nova Weetman
  • Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld

Best Young Adult Short Story

  • Winner: “Vanilla” by Dirk Flinthart (Kaleidoscope)
  • “In Hades” by Goldie Alexander
  • “Falling Leaves” by Liz Argyll (Apex Magazine)
  • “The Fuller and the Bogle” by David Cornish (Tales from the Half-Continent)
  • “Signature” by Faith Mudge (Kaleidoscope)

Best Children’s Fiction

  • Winner: Shadow Sister: Dragon Keeper #5 by Carole Wilkinson
  • Slaves of Socorro: Brotherband #4 by John Flanagan
  • Ophelia and the Marvellous Boy by Karen Foxlee
  • The Last Viking Returns by Norman Jorgensen and illustrated by James Foley
  • Withering-by-Sea by Judith Rossell
  • Sunker’s Deep: The Hidden #2 by Lian Tanner

Best Collection

  • Winner: The Female Factory by Lisa L Hannett and Angela Slatter
  • Secret Lives by Rosaleen Love
  • Angel Dust by Ian McHugh
  • Difficult Second Album: More Stories of Xenobiology, Space Elevators, and Bats Out Of Hell by Simon Petrie
  • The Bitterwood Bible and Other Recountings by Angela Slatter
  • Black-Winged Angels by Angela Slatter

Best Anthology

  • Winner: Kaleidoscope: Diverse YA Science Fiction and Fantasy Stories, edited by Alisa Krasnostein and Julia Rios
  • Kisses by Clockwork, edited by Liz Grzyb
  • Amok: An Anthology of Asia-Pacific Speculative Fiction, edited by Dominica Malcolm
  • Reach for Infinity, edited by Jonathan Strahan
  • Fearsome Magics, edited by Jonathan Strahan
  • Phantazein, edited by Tehani Wessely

Best Graphic Novel/Illustrated Work

  • Winner: Unpronounceable and the Sect of the Bleeding Eye by Tim Molloy
  • Left Hand Path #1 by Jason Franks & Paul Abstruse
  • Awkwood by Jase Harper
  • “A Small Wild Magic” by Kathleen Jennings (Monstrous Affections)
  • The Game by Shane Smith

Also announced was the recipient of The Convenors’ Award for Excellence, which recognizes a particular achievement in speculative fiction or related area not covered by the Aurealis Awards.

The Convenors’ Award for Excellence

  • Winner: “Night Terrace,” a serial podcast story, produced by John Richards, Ben McKenzie, David Ashton, Petra Elliott and Lee Zachariah
  • “It Grows!”, a film by Ryan Cauchi and Nick Stathopoulos
  • “The Australian Women Writers Challenge,” an online reviewing initiative
  • “Useless Questions,” a radio play by Laura Goodin, performed by fans at Conflux

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.