Arthur C. Clarke 2016 Finalists Announced

Now here are some awards finalists that we can feel good about!AC Clarke Award shortlist

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the UK during the previous year. The award was established with a grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale.  Last year’s award went to Emily St. John Mandel for Station Eleven.

The finalists for the 2016 award consists of six excellent works:

  • The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers
  • Europe at Midnight by Dave Hutchinson*
  • The Book of Phoenix by Nnedi Okorafor
  • Arcadia by Iain Pears
  • Way Down Dark by J.P. Smythe
  • Children of Time by Adrian Tchaikovsky


Congratulations to all the finalists – and good luck!

* The link goes to our review of the first book in the Fractured Europe series, Europe in Autumn;  a review for Europe at Midnight will be up in the near future!