2017 Arthur C. Clarke Award Shortlist Announced

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke, an icon in British science fiction (Childhood’s End, 2001: A Space Odyssey, Rendezvous with Rama), and continues in his honor after his passing in  2008. The first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale; last year’s award went to Adrian Tchaikovsky for Children of Time.

The six shortlisted books for the2017 Arthur C. Clarke Award for best science fiction novel of the year published in 2016 are:

  • A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers
  • Ninefox Gambit by Yoon Ha Lee
  • After Atlas by Emma Newman
  • Occupy Me by Tricia Sullivan
  • Central Station by Lavie Tidhar
  • The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead

Award Director Tom Hunter said of the selected novels:  “The novels on our shortlist this year are fascinatingly diverse, deeply imaginative and a great tribute to the memory of Sir Arthur himself as we celebrate the centenary year of his birth in 2017.”

The winner will be announced on July 27th.

Congratulations to all the shortlisted works and their authors!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.