2016 Shirley Jackson Awards Nominees Announced

If you are a reader of horror stories, or those that invoke psychological suspense, then you probably know the name Shirley Jackson. Ms. Jackson wrote such classic novels as The Haunting of Hill House and We Have Always Lived in the Castle, as well as the well known short story, “The Lottery.”

To honor the legacy of Shirley Jackson’s writing, the juried Shirley Jackson Awards were established in 2007 to recognize outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.

Last week, the nominees for the2016 Shirley Jackson Awards were announced. The nominees are:


  • The Girls by Emma Cline
  • The Wonder by Emma Donoghue
  • Lily by Michael Thomas Ford
  • Mongrels by Stephen Graham Jones
  • I’m Thinking of Ending Things by Iain Reid
  • Foxlowe by Eleanor Wasserberg



  • “Andy Kaufman Creeping Through the Trees” by Laird Barron (Autumn Cthulhu)
  • “Breaking Water” by Indrapramit Das (Tor.com)
  • “Waxy” by Camilla Grudova (Granta)
  • “The Night Cyclist” by Stephen Graham Jones (Tor.com)
  • “Angel, Monster, Man” by Sam J. Miller (Nightmare Magazine)
  • “Presence” by Helen Oyeyemi (What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours)


  • “The Apartments” by Karen Heuler (Other Places)
  • “Red” by Katie Knoll (Masters Review)
  • “Postcards from Natalie” by Carrie Laben (The Dark)
  • “Things With Beards” by Sam J. Miller (Clarkesworld)
  • “Animal Parts” by Irenosen Okojie (Speak, Gigantular)


  • We Show What We Have Learned by Clare Beams
  • A Natural History of Hell by Jeffrey Ford
  • Furnace by Livia Llewellyn
  • Almost Insentient, Almost Divine by D.P. Watt
  • Greener Pastures by Michael Wehunt


  • An Unreliable Guide to London, edited by Kit Caless and Gary Budden
  • Autumn Cthulhu, edited by Mike Davis
  • Those Who Make Us: Canadian Creature, Myth, and Monster Stories, edited by Kelsi Morris and Kaitlin Tremblay
  • The Starlit Wood, edited by Dominik Parisien and Navah Wolfe
  • The Madness of Dr. Caligari, edited by Joseph S. Pulver, Sr.

Congratulations to all the nominees!