20 October, 2021

2016 National Book Award Winners Announced


The mission of the National Book Foundation is to celebrate the best of American literature, to expand its audience, and to enhance the cultural value of great writing in America.  To that end, in 1950 they established the National Book Awards, bringing together the American literary community to honor the year’s best work in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and most recently, young people’s literature.

On Wednesday night, the 67th National Book Awards were announced at a gala ceremony held in New York City.  The finalists and winners are as follows:

FICTION WINNER:  Colson Whitehead for The Underground Railroad


  • Chris Bachelder for The Throwback Special
  • Paulette Jiles for News of the World
  • Karan Mahajan for The Association of Small Bombs
  • Jacqueline Woodson for Another Brooklyn


NONFICTION WINNER:  Ibram X. Kendi for Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America
buy premarin online https://bethanyhealthcare.org/wp-content/languages/new/premarin.html no prescription


  • Arlie Russell Hochschild for Strangers in Their Own Land: Anger and Mourning on the American Right
  • Viet Thanh Nguyen for Nothing Ever Dies: Vietnam and the Memory of War
  • Andrés Reséndez for The Other Slavery: The Uncovered Story of Indian Enslavement in America
  • Heather Ann Thompson for Blood in the Water: The Attica Prison Uprising of 1971 and Its Legacy


POETRY WINNER:  Daniel Borzutzky for The Performance of Becoming Human


  • Rita Dove for Collected Poems 1974 – 2004
  • Peter Gizzi for Archeophonics
  • Jay Hopler for The Abridged History of Rainfall
  • Solmaz Sharif for Look


YOUNG PEOPLE’S LITERATURE WINNER:  John Lewis, Andrew Aydin and Nate Powell (Artist) for March: Book Three
buy abilify online https://bethanyhealthcare.org/wp-content/languages/new/abilify.html no prescription


  • Kate DiCamillo for Raymie Nightingale
  • Grace Lin for When the Sea Turned to Silver
  • Jason Reynolds for Ghost
  • Nicola Yoon for The Sun Is Also a Star

buy celexa online https://bethanyhealthcare.org/wp-content/languages/new/celexa.html no prescription

Congratulations to all the winners and finalists!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.