2016 BSFA Awards Shortlists Announced

Cover art by Juan Miguel Aguilera, a 2016 BSFA Award nominee

This weekend, the British Science Fiction Association announced the shortlists for its 2016 BSFA Awards. The BSFAs have been presented annually since 1970, honoring works in the sci-fi genre; winners are chosen by BSFA members and attendees at the annual Eastercon convention.

This year’s shortlisted works include:


  • Daughter of Eden by Chris Beckett
  • A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers
  • Europe in Winter by Dave Hutchinson
  • Occupy Me by Tricia Sullivan
  • Azanian Bridges by Nick Wood



  • “The End of Hope Street” by Malcolm Devlin (Interzone #266)
  • “Liberty Bird” by Jaine Fenn (Now We Are Ten)
  • “Taking Flight” by Una McCormack (Crises and Conflicts)
  • “Presence” by Helen Oyeyemi (What is Not Yours is Not Yours)
  • “The Apologists” by Tade Thompson (Interzone #266)
  • “The Arrival of Missives” by Aliya Whiteley (Unsung Stories)

buy wellbutrin online https://bloonlineandnew.com/wellbutrin.html no prescription


  • THEN: Science Fiction Fandom in the UK 1930-1980 by Rob Hansen
  • “Boucher, Backbone and Blake: The Legacy of Blakes Seven” by Erin Horáková (Strange Horizons)
  • “Breaking the Cycle of the Golden Age: Jack Glass and Isaac Asimov’s Foundation Trilogy” by Anna McFarlane (Adam Roberts: Critical Essays)
  • “New Model Authors? Authority, Authordom, Anarchism and the Atomized Text in a Networked World” by Paul Graham Raven (Adam Roberts: Critical Essays)
  • “100 African Writers of SFF” by Geoff Ryman (com)
  • Introduction to The Big Book of Science Fiction by Ann & Jeff VanderMeer

buy xenical online https://bloonlineandnew.com/xenical.html no prescription


  • Juan Miguel Aguilera for the cover of The 1000 Year Reich by Ian Watson
  • Tara Bush for “Transition”, featured on the cover of Black Static #53
  • Suzanne Dean and Kai & Sunny for the cover of The Sunlight Pilgrims by Jenni Fagan
  • David A Hardy for the cover of Disturbed Universes by David L Clements
  • Sarah Anne Langton for the cover for Central Station by Lavie Tidhar
  • Chris Moore for the cover of The Iron Tactician by Alastair Reynolds


The Awards will be presented at Innominate, the 68th Eastercon, which this year is taking place April 14th – 17th, 2017 in Birmingham, West Midlands, England.
buy yasmin online https://bloonlineandnew.com/yasmin.html no prescription

Congratulations to all the nominees!