2016 BSFA Award Winners Announced

The results are in! On Saturday at the 68th Eastercon in Birmingham, West Midlands, England, the British Science Fiction Association revealed the winners of the 2016 BSFA Awards. The BSFA Awards have been presented annually since 1970, honoring works in the sci-fi genre.

This year’s winners are:

BSFA Award Winner for Best Artwork – Sarah Anne Langton’s cover work for “Central Station” by Lavie Tidhar


  • WINNER: Europe in Winter by Dave Hutchinson
  • Daughter of Eden by Chris Beckett
  • A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers
  • Occupy Me by Tricia Sullivan
  • Azanian Bridges by Nick Wood


  • WINNER: “Liberty Bird” by Jaine Fenn (Now We Are Ten)
  • “The End of Hope Street” by Malcolm Devlin (Interzone #266)
  • “Taking Flight” by Una McCormack (Crises and Conflicts)
  • “Presence” by Helen Oyeyemi (What is Not Yours is Not Yours)
  • “The Apologists” by Tade Thompson (Interzone #266)
  • “The Arrival of Missives” by Aliya Whiteley (Unsung Stories)


  • WINNER: “100 African Writers of SFF” by Geoff Ryman (com)
  • THEN: Science Fiction Fandom in the UK 1930-1980 by Rob Hansen
  • “Boucher, Backbone and Blake: The Legacy of Blakes Seven” by Erin Horáková (Strange Horizons)
  • “Breaking the Cycle of the Golden Age: Jack Glass and Isaac Asimov’s Foundation Trilogy” by Anna McFarlane (Adam Roberts: Critical Essays)
  • “New Model Authors? Authority, Authordom, Anarchism and the Atomized Text in a Networked World” by Paul Graham Raven (Adam Roberts: Critical Essays)
  • Introduction to The Big Book of Science Fiction by Ann & Jeff VanderMeer


  • WINNER: Sarah Anne Langton for the cover for Central Station by Lavie Tidhar
  • Juan Miguel Aguilera for the cover of The 1000 Year Reich by Ian Watson
  • Tara Bush for “Transition”, featured on the cover of Black Static #53
  • Suzanne Dean and Kai & Sunny for the cover of The Sunlight Pilgrims by Jenni Fagan
  • David A Hardy for the cover of Disturbed Universes by David L Clements
  • Chris Moore for the cover of The Iron Tactician by Alastair Reynolds

Congratulations to the BSFA Awards winners, and to all the nominees!