On Tuesday – International Women’s Day – the longlist for the Baileys Woman’s Prize for Fiction was announced.  The British prize, now in its 10th year, celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in women’s writing from throughout the world.

Works on the longlist include:

  • A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson
  • Rush Oh! by Shirley Barrett
  • Ruby by Cynthia Bond
  • The Secret Chord by Geraldine Brooks
  • The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers
  • A Dictionary of Mutual Understanding by Jackie Copleton
  • Whispering Through a Megaphone by Rachel Elliot
  • The Green Road by Anne Enright
  • The Book of Memory by Petina Gappah
  • Gorsky by Vesna Goldsworthy
  • The Anatomist’s Dream by Clio Gray
  • At Hawthorn Time by Melissa Harrison
  • Pleasantville by Attica Locke
  • The Glorious Heresies by Lisa McInerney
  • The Portable Veblen by Elizabeth McKenzie
  • Girl at War by Sara Nović
  • The House on the Edge of the World by Julia Rochester
  • The Improbability of Love by Hannah Rothschild
  • My Name is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout
  • A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara


The Baileys Prize shortlist will be announced on April 11th, with the winner being revealed on June 8.  The winner receives an award of £30,000 ($42,615) and a limited edition bronze known as a ‘Bessie’, created by the artist Grizel Niven.

Congratulations to all the nominees!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.