16 October, 2021

2015 World Fantasy Awards Nominees Announced


World Fantasy Award nominated artist Galen Dara
World Fantasy Award nominated artist Galen Dara

Finalists for The World Fantasy Awards (for works published in 2015) were announced this weekend, with the winners to be announced the last weekend in October during the World Fantasy Convention in Columbus Ohio.  The Awards, for the best fantasy fiction published during the last calendar year, have been handed out since 1975.

The list of this year’s nominated works include:




  • The Unlicensed Magician by Kelly Barnhill
  • “The Pauper Prince and the Eucalyptus Jinn” by Usman T. Malik (Tor.com 4/22/15)
  • “Guignol” by Kim Newman (Horrorology)
  • “Waters of Versailles” by Kelly Robson (Tor.com 6/10/15)
  • “Farewell Blues” by Bud Webster (F&SF 1-2/15)



  • “The Neurastheniac” by Selena Chambers (Cassilda’s Song)
  • “Pockets” by Amal El-Mohtar (Uncanny 1-2/15)
  • “The Heat of Us: Notes Toward an Oral History” by Sam J. Miller (Uncanny 1-2/15)
  • “The Deepwater Bride” by Tamsyn Muir (F&SF 7-8/15)
  • “Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers” by Alyssa Wong (Nightmare 10/15)



  • The Doll Collection, edited by Ellen Datlow
  • Black Wings IV, edited by S.T. Joshi
  • She Walks in Shadows, edited by Silvia Moreno-Garcia and Paula R. Stiles
  • Cassilda’s Song, edited by Joseph S. Pulver, Sr.
  • Aickman’s Heirs, edited by Simon Strantzas



  • Bone Swans by C.S.E. Cooney
  • Leena Krohn: Collected Fiction by Leena Krohn
  • Skein and Bone by V.H. Leslie
  • Get in Trouble by Kelly Link
  • Reality by Other Means: The Best Short Fiction of James Morrow by James Morrow
  • You Have Never Been Here by Mary Rickert



  • Richard Anderson
  • Galen Dara
  • Julie Dillon
  • Kathleen Jennings
  • Thomas S. Kuebler



  • Neil Gaiman, Dave Stewart and J.H. Williams III, for The Sandman: Overture
  • Stephen Jones, for The Art of Horror
  • Robert Jordan, Harriet McDougal, Alan Romanczuk and Maria Simons, for The Wheel of Time Companion
  • Joe Monti, for contributions to the genre
  • Heather J. Wood, for Gods, Memes and Monsters: A 21st Century Bestiary



  • Scott H. Andrews, for Beneath Ceaseless Skies
  • Jedediah Berry and Eben Kling, for The Family Arcana: A Story in Cards
  • John O’Neill, for Black Gate
  • Alexandra Pierce and Alisa Krasnostein, for Letters to Tiptree
  • Lynne M. Thomas and Michael Damian Thomas, for Uncanny
  • Helen Young, for Tales After Tolkien Society


Congratulations to all the nominees!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.