2015 Shirley Jackson Awards Winners Announced

The winners of the Shirley Jackson Awards were announced over the weekend at Readercon 26 – and without further ado, here they are:

NOVELShirley Jackson

  • Winner: Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer
  • Bird Box by Josh Malerman
  • Broken Monsters by Lauren Beukes
  • Confessions by Kanae Minato
  • The Lesser Dead by Christopher Buehlman
  • The Unquiet House by Alison Littlewood



  • Winner: We Are All Completely Fine by Daryl Gregory
  • The Beauty by Aliya Whiteley
  • Ceremony of Flies by Kate Jonez
  • The Good Shabti by Robert Sharp
  • The Mothers of Voorhisville by Mary Rickert



  • Winner: “The End of the End of Everything” by Dale Bailey (Tor.com, April 2014)
  • “The Devil in America” by Kai Ashante Wilson (Tor.com, April 2014)
  • “The Husband Stitch” by Carmen Maria Machado (Granta)
  • “Newspaper Heart” by Stephen Volk (The Spectral Book of Horror Stories)
  • “Office at Night” by Kate Bernheimer and Laird Hunt (Walker Art Center/ Coffee House Press)
  • “The Quiet Room” by V.H. Leslie (Shadows & Tall Trees 2014)



  • Winner: “The Dogs Home” by Alison Littlewood (The Spectral Book of Horror Stories)
  • “Candy Girl” by Chikodili Emelumadu (Apex Magazine, November 2014)
  • “The Fisher Queen” by Alyssa Wong (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, May/June 2014)
  • “Shay Corsham Worsted” by Garth Nix (Fearful Symmetries)
  • “Wendigo Nights” by Siobhan Carroll (Fearful Symmetries)



  • Winner: Gifts for the One Who Comes After by Helen Marshall
  • After the People Lights Have Gone Off by Stephen Graham Jones
  • Burnt Black Suns: A Collection of Weird Tales by Simon Strantzas
  • They Do the Same Things Different There by Robert Shearman
  • Unseaming by Mike Allen



  • Winner: Fearful Symmetries, edited by Ellen Datlow
  • Letters to Lovecraft, edited by Jesse Bullington
  • The Spectral Book of Horror Stories, edited by Mark Morris
  • Shadows & Tall Trees 2014, edited by Michael Kelly
  • The Children of Old Leech: A Tribute to the Carnivorous Cosmos of Laird Barron, edited by Ross E. Lockhart and Justin Steele


Although Shirley Jackson wrote numerous short stories (and won many awards for those stories), it was the famous – and unnerving – story, “The Lottery”, that established her iconic reputation.  Published in the June 26, 1948 issue of The New Yorker, “The Lottery” immediately caused a furor, and has continued to chill readers ever since.  In 2007, the Shirley Jackson Awards were established in recognition of Ms. Jackson’s legacy in writing, and are awarded yearly for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.

Congratulations to the winners, and all the writers whose works were nominated!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.