4 December, 2021

2015 Shirley Jackson Award Winners Announced

Shirley Jackson

The 2015 Shirley Jackson Awards were presented on Sunday, July 10th at Readercon 27, Conference on Imaginative Literature, in Quincy, Massachusetts. Readercon Guests of Honor,  Catherynne M. Valente and Tim Powers hosted the ceremony.

The winners for the 2015 Shirley Jackson Awards are:


  • WINNER: Experimental Film by Gemma Files
  • Eileen by Ottessa Moshfegh
  • The Glittering World by Robert Levy
  • Lord Byron’s Prophecy by Sean Eads
  • When We Were Animals by Joshua Gaylord



  • WINNER: Wylding Hall by Elizabeth Hand
  • The Box Jumper by Lisa Mannetti
  • In the Lovecraft Museum by Steve Tem
  • Unusual Concentrations by S.J. Spurrier
  • The Visible Filth by Nathan Ballingrud



  • WINNER: “Even Clean Hands Can Do Damage” by Steve Duffy (Supernatural Tales #30, Autumn)
  • “The Briskwater Mare” by Deborah Kalin (Cherry Crow Children)
  • “The Deepwater Bride” by Tamsyn Muir (Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, July-August 2015)
  • “Fabulous Beasts” by Priya Sharma (Tor.com, July 2015)
  • “The Thyme Fiend” by Jeffrey Ford (Tor.com, March 2015)



  • WINNER: “The Dying Season” by Lynda E. Rucker (Aickman’s Heirs)
  • “A Beautiful Memory” by Shannon Peavey (Apex Magazine)
  • “Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers” by Alyssa Wong (Nightmare)
  • “Seven Minutes in Heaven” by Nadia Bulkin (Aickman’s Heirs)
  • “Wilderness” by Letitia Trent (Exigencies)



  • WINNER: The Bazaar of Bad Dreams by Stephen King
  • The End of the End of Everything by Dale Bailey
  • Get in Trouble by Kelly Link
  • Gutshot by Amelia Gray
  • The Nameless Dark – A Collection by T.E. Grau
  • You Have Never Been Here by Mary Rickert



  • WINNER: Aickman’s Heirs, edited by Simon Strantzas
  • Black Wings IV, edited by S.T. Joshi
  • The Doll Collection, edited by Ellen Datlow
  • Exigencies, edited by Richard Thomas
  • Seize the Night, edited by Christopher Golden


Although Shirley Jackson wrote numerous short stories (and won many awards for those stories), it was the famous – and unnerving – story, “The Lottery”, that established her iconic reputation.  Published in the June 26, 1948 issue of The New Yorker, “The Lottery” immediately caused a furor, and has continued to chill readers ever since.  In 2007, the Shirley Jackson Awards were established in recognition of Ms. Jackson’s legacy in writing, and are awarded yearly for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.

Congratulations to the winners, and all those nominated!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.