24 September, 2022

2015 Shirley Jackson Award Nominees Announced

If you are a reader of horror stories, or those that invoke psychological suspense, then you probably know the name Shirley Jackson.  Ms. Jackson wrote such classic novels as The Haunting of Hill House and We Have Always Lived in the Castle, as well as the well known short story, “The Lottery.”

Shirley Jackson

To honor the legacy of Shirley Jackson’s writing, the juried Shirley Jackson Awards were established in 2007 to recognize outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.

The nominees for the 2015 Shirley Jackson Awards were recently announced.  They include:


  • Eileen by Ottessa Moshfegh
  • Experimental Film by Gemma Files
  • The Glittering World by Robert Levy
  • Lord Byron’s Prophecy by Sean Eads
  • When We Were Animals by Joshua Gaylord

buy benicar online https://salempregnancy.org/wp-content/languages/new/benicar.html benicar no prescription


  • The Box Jumper by Lisa Mannetti
  • In the Lovecraft Museum by Steve Tem
  • Unusual Concentrations by S.J. Spurrier
  • The Visible Filth by Nathan Ballingrud
  • Wylding Hall by Elizabeth Hand



  • “The Briskwater Mare” by Deborah Kalin (Cherry Crow Children)
  • “The Deepwater Bride” by Tamsyn Muir (Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, July-August 2015)
  • “Even Clean Hands Can Do Damage” by Steve Duffy (Supernatural Tales #30)
  • “Fabulous Beasts” by Priya Sharma (com, July 2015)
  • “The Thyme Fiend” by Jeffrey Ford (com, March 2015)



  • “A Beautiful Memory” by Shannon Peavey (Apex Magazine)
  • “Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers” by Alyssa Wong (Nightmare)
  • “Seven Minutes in Heaven” by Nadia Bulkin (Aickman’s Heirs)
  • “The Dying Season” by Lynda E. Rucker (Aickman’s Heirs)
  • “Wilderness” by Letitia Trent (Exigencies)

buy aceon online https://salempregnancy.org/wp-content/languages/new/aceon.html aceon no prescription


  • The Bazaar of Bad Dreams by Stephen King
  • The End of the End of Everything by Dale Bailey
  • Get in Trouble by Kelly Link
  • Gutshot by Amelia Gray
  • The Nameless Dark – A Collection by T.E. Grau
  • You Have Never Been Here by Mary Rickert



  • Aickman’s Heirs, edited by Simon Strantzas
  • Black Wings IV, edited by S.T. Joshi
  • The Doll Collection, edited by Ellen Datlow
  • Exigencies, edited by Richard Thomas
  • Seize the Night, edited by Christopher Golden


Winners will be announced on Sunday, July 10, 2016, at Readercon 27 – Conference on Imaginative Literature, to be held in Quincy, Massachusetts.

Congratulations to all the nominees!