16 October, 2021

2015 Nebula Awards Nominees Announced

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) have announced the nominees for the 2015 Nebula Awards, as well as the nominees for the Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation and the Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy.

According to the SFWA’s eligibility rules, all works first published in English, in the United States, during the calendar year, in the genres of science fiction, fantasy, or a related fiction genre are eligible for the Nebula Awards in their respective categories.

The nominees for the 2015 Nebula Awards include:


  • Raising Caine by Charles E. Gannon
  • The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin
  • Ancillary Mercy by Ann Leckie
  • The Grace of Kings by Ken Liu
  • Uprooted by Naomi Novik
  • Barsk: The Elephants’ Graveyard by Lawrence M. Schoen
  • Updraft by Fran Wilde



  • Wings of Sorrow and Bone by Beth Cato
  • “The Bone Swans of Amandale” by C.S.E. Cooney (Bone Swans)
  • “The New Mother” by Eugene Fischer (Asimov’s 4-5/15)
  • “The Pauper Prince and the Eucalyptus Jinn” by Usman T. Malik (Tor.com 4/22/15)
  • Binti by Nnedi Okorafor
  • “Waters of Versailles” by Kelly Robson (Tor.com 6/10/15)



  • “Rattlesnakes and Men” by Michael Bishop (Asimov’s 2/15)
  • “And You Shall Know Her by the Trail of Dead” by Brooke Bolander (Lightspeed 2/15)
  • “Grandmother-nai-Leylit’s Cloth of Winds” by Rose Lemberg (Beneath Ceaseless Skies 6/11/15)
  • “The Ladies’ Aquatic Gardening Society” by Henry Lien (Asimov’s 6/15)
  • “The Deepwater Bride” by Tamsyn Muir (F&SF 7-8/15)
  • “Our Lady of the Open Road” by Sarah Pinsker (Asimov’s 6/15)


Short Story

  • “Madeleine” by Amal El-Mohtar (Lightspeed 6/15)
  • “Cat Pictures Please” by Naomi Kritzer (Clarkesworld 1/15)
  • “Damage” by David D. Levine (com 1/21/15)
  • “When Your Child Strays From God” by Sam J. Miller (Clarkesworld 7/15)
  • “Today I Am Paul” by Martin L. Shoemaker (Clarkesworld 8/15)
  • “Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers” by Alyssa Wong (Nightmare 10/15)


Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation

  • Ex Machina, written by Alex Garland
  • Inside Out, screenplay by Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve and Josh Cooley; original story by Pete Docter and Ronnie del Carmen
  • Jessica Jones: AKA Smile, teleplay by Scott Reynolds and Melissa Rosenberg; story by Jamie King and Scott Reynolds
  • Mad Max: Fury Road, written by George Miller, Brendan McCarthy and Nick Lathouris
  • The Martian, screenplay by Drew Goddard
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens, written by Lawrence Kasdan and J.J. Abrams, with Michael Arndt


Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy

  • Seriously Wicked by Tina Connolly
  • Court of Fives by Kate Elliott
  • Cuckoo Song by Frances Hardinge
  • Archivist Wasp by Nicole Kornher-Stace
  • Zeroboxer by Fonda Lee
  • Shadowshaper by Daniel José Older
  • Bone Gap by Laura Ruby
  • Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
  • Updraft by Fran Wilde


This is the 50th year that the SFWA has been handing out the Nebula Awards; this year, the awards banquet will take place on May 14, in Chicago.  Comedian John Hodgman  will emcee the awards ceremony.

Congratulations to all the nominees!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.