2015 National Book Award Winners Announced

On Wednesday night, the National Book Award winners were announced at a gala celebration in New York City.  Without further ado, here were the results:

Fortune Smiles


  • WINNER: Fortune Smiles by Adam Johnson
  • Refund by Karen E. Bender
  • The Turner House by Angela Flournoy
  • Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff
  • A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara



  • WINNER: Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates
  • Hold Still by Sally Mann
  • The Soul of an Octopus by Sy Montgomery
  • If the Oceans Were Ink: An Unlikely Friendship and a Journey to the Heart of the Quran by Carla Power
  • Ordinary Light by Tracy K. Smith



  • WINNER: Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman
  • The Thing About Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin
  • Bone Gap by Laura Ruby
  • Most Dangerous: Daniel Ellsberg and the Secret History of the Vietnam War by Steve Sheinkin
  • Nimona by Noelle Stevenson



  • WINNER: Voyage of the Sable Venus by Robin Coste Lewis
  • Catalog of Unabashed Gratitude by Ross Gay
  • How to Be Drawn by Terrance Hayes
  • Bright Dead Things by Ada Limón
  • Elegy for a Broken Machine by Patrick Phillips


Additionally, the Literarian Award was given to best-selling author James Patterson for his contributions to literacy for middle-school children, and the Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters was awarded to novelist, playwright and essayist Don DeLillo.

Congratulations to the winners and all the nominees!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.