2015 Man Booker Prize Longlist Announced

Direct on the heels of the 70 title longlist for The Guardian’s Not the Booker award, is the actual authentic longlist for the actual authentic Man Booker Prize!
Man Booker Prize logo
The Man Booker Prize debuted in 1969, and according to its website, it “aims to promote the finest in fiction by rewarding the best novel of the year written in English and published in the United Kingdom.”  The shortlisted authors each receive £2,500 (just under $4,000 USD) and a specially bound edition of their book, and the winner will receive an additional £50,000 (close to $80,000 USD) as well as a huge amount of publicity and international recognition.

The Prize is open to any novel originally written in English and published in the UK in the year of the prize, regardless of the nationality of their author. The novel must be an original work in English (not a translation) and must not be self-published.

Here is the longlist of novels in the running for the 2015 Man Booker Prize:

  • Did You Ever Have a Family by Bill Clegg
  • The Green Road by Anne Enright
  • A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James
  • The Moor’s Account by Laila Lalami
  • Satin Island by Tom McCarthy
  • The Fishermen by Chigozie Obioma
  • The Illuminations by Andrew O’Hagan
  • Lila by Marilynne Robinson
  • Sleeping on Jupiter by Anuradha Roy
  • The Year of the Runaways by Sunjeev Sahota
  • The Chimes by Anna Smaill
  • A Spool of Blue Thread by Anne Tyler
  • A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara


The shortlist will be announced on Tuesday, September 15, 2015 with the winner announced on Tuesday, October 13, 2015 in a ceremony that will be broadcast on the BBC.

Congratulations to all the nominees!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.