2015 Locus Awards Shortlist Announced

The Locus Science Fiction Foundation has announced the shortlist for its 2015 awards.  The Locus Awards are determined by polling the readers of Locus magazine (subtitled The Magazine of The Science Fiction & Fantasy Field).  Locus was founded in 1968 and the awards themselves were first handed out in 1971.Locus

The shortlisted nominees for the 2015 Locus Awards include:




  • Half a King by Joe Abercrombie
  • The Doubt Factory by Paolo Bacigalupi
  • Waistcoats & Weaponry by Gail Carriger
  • Empress of the Sun by Ian McDonald
  • Clariel by Garth Nix


  • Elysium by Jennifer Marie Brissett
  • A Darkling Sea by James L. Cambias
  • The Clockwork Dagger by Beth Cato
  • The Memory Garden by Mary Rickert
  • The Emperor’s Blades by Brian Staveley


  • “The Man Who Sold the Moon” by Cory Doctorow (Hieroglyph)
  • We Are All Completely Fine by Daryl Gregory
  • Yesterday’s Kin by Nancy Kress
  • “The Regular” by Ken Liu (Upgraded)
  • “The Lightning Tree” by Patrick Rothfuss (Rogues)


  • “Tough Times All Over” by Joe Abercrombie (Rogues)
  • “The Hand Is Quicker” by Elizabeth Bear (The Book of Silverberg)
  • “Memorials” by Aliette de Bodard (Asimov’s 1/14)
  • “The Jar of Water” by Ursula K. Le Guin (Tin House #62)
  • “A Year and a Day in Old Theradane” by Scott Lynch (Rogues)


  • “Covenant” by Elizabeth Bear (Hieroglyph)
  • “The Dust Queen” by Aliette de Bodard (Reach for Infinity)
  • “The Truth About Owls” by Amal El-Mohtar (Kaleidoscope)
  • “In Babelsberg” by Alastair Reynolds (Reach for Infinity)
  • “Ogres of East Africa” by Sofia Samatar (Long Hidden)


  • The Year’s Best Science Fiction: Thirty-first Annual Collection, Gardner Dozois, ed.
  • Long Hidden: Speculative Fiction from the Margins of History, Rose Fox and Daniel José Older, eds.
  • Rogues, George R.R. Martin and Gardner Dozois, ed.
  • Reach for Infinity, Jonathan Strahan, ed.
  • The Time Traveler’s Almanac, Ann VanderMeer and Jeff VanderMeer, eds.


  • Questionable Practices, Eileen Gunn
  • The Collected Short Fiction Volume One: The Man Who Made Models, R.A. Lafferty
  • Last Plane to Heaven, Jay Lake
  • Academic Exercises, K.J. Parker
  • The Collected Stories of Robert Silverberg, Volume Nine: The Millennium Express, Robert Silverberg


  • Asimov’s
  • Clarkesworld
  • F&SF
  • Lightspeed
  • com


  • Angry Robot
  • Orbit
  • Small Beer
  • Subterranean
  • Tor


  • John Joseph Adams
  • Ellen Datlow
  • Gardner Dozois
  • Jonathan Strahan
  • Ann and Jeff VanderMeer


  • Jim Burns
  • John Picacio
  • Shaun Tan
  • Charles Vess
  • Michael Whelan


  • Ray Bradbury Unbound by Jonathan Eller
  • Harry Harrison! Harry Harrison! by Harry Harrison
  • The Secret History of Wonder Woman by Jill Lepore
  • Robert A. Heinlein: In Dialogue with His Century, Volume 2: The Man Who Learned Better: 1948-1988 by William H. Patterson, Jr.
  • What Makes This Book So Great by Jo Walton


  • The Art of Jim Burns: Hyperluminal by Jim Burns
  • The Art of Neil Gaiman by Hayley Campbell
  • Spectrum 21: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art, John Fleskes, ed.
  • Brian Froud’s Faeries’ Tales by Brian and Wendy Froud
  • The Art of Space: The History of Space Art, from the Earliest Visions to the Graphics of the Modern Era by Ron Miller

Winners will be announced during the Locus Awards Weekend in Seattle WA, June 26-28, 2015 with venerated science fiction and fantasy author Connie Willis acting as MC.

Congratulations to all the nominees!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.