2015 Locus Award Winners Announced

Established in 1971, the Locus Awards are spearheaded by the monthly science fiction and fantasy magazine Locus Locus(Locus Online debuted in 1997 as a semi-autonomous web version of the magazine); award winners are selected by poll of magazine readers.

The votes have been tallied, and the winners of the 2015 Locus Awards were announced on Saturday during the Locus Awards Weekend in Seattle, Washington.  The results were:






  • Winner: Half a King by Joe Abercrombie
  • The Doubt Factory by Paolo Bacigalupi
  • Waistcoats & Weaponry by Gail Carriger
  • Empress of the Sun by Ian McDonald
  • Clariel by Garth Nix



  • Winner: The Memory Garden by Mary Rickert
  • Elysium by Jennifer Marie Brissett
  • A Darkling Sea by James L. Cambias
  • The Clockwork Dagger by Beth Cato
  • The Emperor’s Blades by Brian Staveley



  • Winner: Yesterday’s Kin by Nancy Kress
  • “The Man Who Sold the Moon” by Cory Doctorow
  • We Are All Completely Fine by Daryl Gregory
  • “The Regular” by Ken Liu
  • “The Lightning Tree” by Patrick Rothfuss



  • Winner: “Tough Times All Over” by Joe Abercrombie
  • “The Hand Is Quicker” by Elizabeth Bear
  • “Memorials” by Aliette de Bodard
  • “The Jar of Water” by Ursula K. Le Guin
  • “A Year and a Day in Old Theradane” by Scott Lynch



  • Winner: “The Truth About Owls” by Amal El-Mohtar
  • “Covenant” by Elizabeth Bear
  • “The Dust Queen” by Aliette de Bodard
  • “In Babelsberg” by Alastair Reynolds
  • “Ogres of East Africa” by Sofia Samatar



  • Winner: Rogues, George R.R. Martin and Gardner Dozois, ed.
  • The Year’s Best Science Fiction: Thirty-first Annual Collection, Gardner Dozois, ed.
  • Long Hidden: Speculative Fiction from the Margins of History, Rose Fox and Daniel José Older, eds.
  • Reach for Infinity, Jonathan Strahan, ed.
  • The Time Traveler’s Almanac, Ann VanderMeer and Jeff VanderMeer, eds.



  • Winner: Last Plane to Heaven by Jay Lake
  • Questionable Practices by Eileen Gunn
  • The Collected Short Fiction Volume One: The Man Who Made Models by R.A. Lafferty
  • Academic Exercises by K.J. Parker
  • The Collected Stories of Robert Silverberg, Volume Nine: The Millennium Express by Robert Silverberg



  • Winner: Tor.com
  • Asimov’s
  • Clarkesworld
  • F&SF
  • Lightspeed



  • Winner: Tor
  • Angry Robot
  • Orbit
  • Small Beer
  • Subterranean



  • Winner: Ellen Datlow
  • John Joseph Adams
  • Gardner Dozois
  • Jonathan Strahan
  • Ann and Jeff VanderMeer



  • Winner: John Picacio
  • Jim Burns
  • Shaun Tan
  • Charles Vess
  • Michael Whelan



  • Winner: What Makes This Book So Great by Jo Walton
  • Ray Bradbury Unbound by Jonathan Eller
  • Harry Harrison! Harry Harrison! by Harry Harrison
  • The Secret History of Wonder Woman by Jill Lepore
  • Robert A. Heinlein: In Dialogue with His Century, Volume 2: The Man Who Learned Better: 1948-1988 by William H. Patterson, Jr.



  • Winner: Spectrum 21: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art, John Fleskes, ed.
  • The Art of Jim Burns: Hyperluminal by Jim Burns
  • The Art of Neil Gaiman by Hayley Campbell
  • Brian Froud’s Faeries’ Tales by Brian and Wendy Froud
  • The Art of Space: The History of Space Art, from the Earliest Visions to the Graphics of the Modern Era by Ron Miller


Congratulations to the winners, and to all the works nominated!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.