The Kitschie Awards, now it their sixth year, rewards the year’s “most progressive, intelligent and entertaining works that contain elements of the speculative or fantastic.”  They are sponsored by Fallen London, the award-winning browser game of a dark and mysterious London, designed by Failbetter Games.

This year’s shortlist for “the most tentacular of all literary prizes” include:

The Red Tentacle (Novel):

  • The Heart Goes Last by Margaret Atwood
  • Europe at Midnight by Dave Hutchinson
  • The Reflection by Hugo Wilcken
  • The Fifth Season by N. K. Jemisin
  • The Thing Itself by Adam Roberts


The Golden Tentacle (Debut):

  • The Shore by Sara Taylor
  • Blackass by A. Igoni Barrett
  • The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan
  • The Night Clock by Paul Meloy
  • Making Wolf by Tade Thompson


The Inky Tentacle (Cover Art):

  • The Vorrh by Brian Catling, design by Pablo Declan
  • Monsters by Emerald Fennell, art direction by Jet Purdie, illustration by Patrick Leger
  • The Honours by Tim Clare, design and illustration by Peter Adlington
  • The Door that Led to Where by Sally Gardner, art direction and design by Jet Purdie, illustration by Dover Publications Inc & Shutterstock
  • Get In Trouble by Kelly Link, design by Alex Merto


The Invisible Tentacle (Natively Digital Fiction):


The winners will be announced in a ceremony on March 7th.

Congratulations to all the nominees!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.