The winners of the 2015 Kitschie Awards – the most tentacular of all literary prizes (!) – which rewards the year’s “most progressive, intelligent and entertaining works that contain elements of the speculative or fantastic,” were announced last night in a ceremony in London, England.  (The awards are sponsored by Fallen London, the award-winning browser game of a dark and mysterious London, designed by Failbetter Games.)

Those winners, along with the shortlisted nominees, include:


The Red Tentacle (Novel):

  • Winner: The Heart Goes Last by Margaret Atwood
  • Europe at Midnight by Dave Hutchinson
  • The Reflection by Hugo Wilcken
  • The Fifth Season by N. K. Jemisin
  • The Thing Itself by Adam Roberts


The Golden Tentacle (Debut):

  • Winner: Making Wolf by Tade Thompson
  • The Shore by Sara Taylor
  • Blackass by A. Igoni Barrett
  • The Gracekeepers by Kirsty Logan
  • The Night Clock by Paul Meloy


The Inky Tentacle (Cover Art):

  • Winner: The Door That Led to Where by Sally Gardner, art direction and design by Jet Purdie, illustration by Dover Publications Inc & Shutterstock
  • The Vorrh by Brian Catling, design by Pablo Declan
  • Monsters by Emerald Fennell, art direction by Jet Purdie, illustration by Patrick Leger
  • The Honours by Tim Clare, design and illustration by Peter Adlington
  • Get in Trouble by Kelly Link, design by Alex Merto


The Invisible Tentacle (Natively Digital Fiction):

  • Winner: LIFE IS STRANGE (Square Enix)
  • Arcadia by Iain Pears (Faber/Touchpress)
  • Daniel Barker’s Birthday by @FrogCroakley
  • The Last Hours of Laura K (BBC Writers Room)
  • Bloodborne (Hidetaka Miyazaki/FromSoftware)


The Kitschies also awarded The Black Tentacle, for “encouraging and elevating the conversation around genre literature”, to the genre community, personified by Patrick Ness, for its response to the humanitarian refugee crisis – how freakin’ cool is that???  Mr. Ness’ effort raised close to $1 million dollars for Save the Children from over 6,000 donors, including more than 20 authors who gave close to $150,000 in matching prizes.

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees!


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.