2015 Hugo Awards Announced

The Hugo Awards were handed out on Saturday night at Worldcon in Spokane, Washington, and although the hugo-awardsballoting process was contentious and full of drama, in the end the community of science fiction and fantasy enthusiasts came together.  The awards ceremony, hosted by David Gerrold and Tananarive Due, was by all accounts warm, witty, and full of good cheer.

While the voters determined that there would be no awards handed out to the nominees for Best Novella, Best Short Story, Best Related Work and Best Editor (both short and long form), there were many other awards that weathered the special-interest storm that cast a pall over the nominating process.  (We here at LitStack are especially thrilled that Wesley Chu won the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer!)  The awards that were handed out included:

Best Novel

  • WINNERThe Three Body Problem by Cixin Liu, Ken Liu translator
  • The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison
  • Ancillary Sword by Ann Leckie
  • Skin Game by Jim Butcher
  • The Dark Between the Stars by Kevin J. Anderson


Best Novelette

  • WINNER – “The Day the World Turned Upside Down” by Thomas Olde Heuvelt, Lia Belt translator (Lightspeed, 04-2014)
  • “The Triple Sun: A Golden Age Tale” by Rajnar Vajra (Analog, 07/08-2014)
  • “Ashes to Ashes, Dust to Dust, Earth to Alluvium”by Gray Rinehart (Orson Scott Card’s InterGalactic Medicine Show, 05-2014)
  • “The Journeyman: In the Stone House”by Michael F. Flynn (Analog, 06-2014)
  • “Championship B’tok” by Edward M. Lerner (Analog, 09-2014)


Best Graphic Story

  • WINNERMs. Marvel Volume 1: No Normal, written by G. Willow Wilson, illustrated by Adrian Alphona and Jake Wyatt
  • Saga Volume 3, written by Brian K. Vaughan, illustrated by Fiona Staples
  • Rat Queens Volume 1: Sass and Sorcery, written by Kurtis J. Weibe, art by Roc Upchurch
  • Sex Criminals Volume 1: One Weird Trick, written by Matt Fraction, art by Chip Zdarsky
  • The Zombie Nation Book #2: Reduce Reuse Reanimate by Carter Michael Reid


Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

  • WINNER Guardians of the Galaxy, written by James Gunn and Nicole Perlman, directed by James Gunn
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier, screenplay by Christopher Markus and Stephen McFeely, concept and story by Ed Brubaker, directed by Anthony Russo and Joe Russo
  • Edge of Tomorrow, screenplay by Christopher McQuarrie, Jez Butterworth, and John-Henry Butterworth, directed by Doug Liman
  • Interstellar, screenplay by Jonathan Nolan and Christopher Nolan, directed by Christopher Nolan
  • The Lego Movie, written by Phil Lord and Christopher Miller, story by Dan Hageman, Kevin Hageman, Phil Lord & Christopher Miller, directed by Phil Lord and Christopher Miller


Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

  • WINNEROrphan Black: “By Means Which Have Never Yet Been Tried”, written by Graham Manson, directed by John Fawcett
  • Doctor Who: “Listen”, written by Steven Moffat, directed by Douglas Mackinnon
  • Game of Thrones: “The Mountain and the Viper”, written by David Benioff and D. B. Weiss, directed by Alex Graves
  • The Flash: “Pilot”, teleplay by Andrew Kreisberg & Geoff Johns, story by Greg Berlanti, Andrew Kreisberg and Geoff Johns, directed by David Nutter
  • Grimm: “Once We Were Gods”, written by Alan DiFiore, directed by Steven DePaul


Best Professional Artist

  • WINNER – Julie Dillon (her art is in our banner for this story)
  • Kirk DouPonce
  • Alan Pollack
  • Nick Greenwood
  • Carter Reid


Best Semiprozine

  • WINNERLightspeed Magazine, edited by John Joseph Adams, Stefan Rudnicki, Rich Horton, Wendy N. Wagner and Christie Yant
  • Strange Horizons, Niall Harrison, editor-in-chief
  • Beneath Ceaseless Skies, edited by Scott H. Andrews
  • Abyss & Apex, Wendy Delmater, editor and publisher
  • Andromeda Spaceways In-Flight Magazine, 2014 editors David Kernot and Sue Bursztynski


Best Fanzine

  • WINNERJourney Planet, edited by James Bacon, Christopher J Garcia, Colin Harris, Alissa McKersie, and Helen J. Montgomery
  • Tangent SF Online, edited by Dave Truesdale
  • Elitist Book Reviews, edited by Steven Diamond
  • The Revenge of Hump Day, edited by Tim Bolgeo


Best Fancast

  • WINNERGalactic Suburbia Podcast, Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Presenters) and Andrew Finch (Producer)
  • Tea and Jeopardy, Emma Newman and Peter Newman
  • The Sci Phi Show, Jason Rennie
  • Adventures in SciFi Publishing, Brent Bower (Executive Producer), Kristi Charish, Timothy C. Ward and Moses Siregar III (Co-Hosts, Interviewers and Producers)
  • Dungeon Crawlers Radio, Daniel Swenson (Producer/Host), Travis Alexander & Scott Tomlin (Hosts), Dale Newton (Host/Tech), Damien Swenson (Audio/Video Tech)


Best Fan Writer

  • WINNER – Laura J. Mixon
  • Jeffro Johnson
  • Dave Freer
  • Amanda S. Green
  • Cedar Sanderson


Best Fan Artist

  • WINNER – Elizabeth Leggett
  • Spring Schoenhuth
  • Ninni Aalto
  • Steve Stiles
  • Brad W. Foster


The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (this is technically not a Hugo Award, but is administered along with the Hugo Awards)

  • WINNER Wesley Chu
  • Kary English
  • Eric S. Raymond
  • Jason Cordova
  • Rolf Nelson


Congratulations to all the winners, the nominees, and all those who weathered the storm!


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.