2015 BSFA Award Winners Announced

The British Science Fiction Association announced the winners of the 2015 BSFA Awards on March 26 at the British National Science Fiction Convention (known as Eastercon), held in Manchester.  For the first time ever, the award for Best Novel and for the Best Short Story went to the same person:  Aliette de Bodard.  Of winning both awards, Ms. de Bodard told British periodical The Guardian that she was “delighted and more than a bit shocked to have won two BSFA awards. I was honestly not expecting to walk home with either of them, especially since there were two very strong shortlists with wonderful contenders.”

BSFA Award Winning Artwork
BSFA Award Winning Artwork

Here’s the full run-down of winners and nominees:

Best Novel:

  • WINNER: The House of Shattered Wings by Aliette de Bodard
  • Europe at Midnight by Dave Hutchinson
  • Mother of Eden by Chris Beckett
  • Luna: New Moon by Ian McDonald
  • Glorious Angels by Justina Robson


Best Short Story:

  • WINNER: “Three Cups of Grief, by Starlight” by Aliette de Bodard (Clarkesworld 100)
  • The Witches of Lychford” by Paul Cornell (Tor.com)
  • Jeff Noon, “No Rez” by Jeff Noon (Interzone260)
  • “Binti” by Nnedi Okorafor (Tor.com)
  • “Ride the Blue Horse” by Gareth L. Powell (Matter)


Best Non-Fiction:

  • WINNER: Rave and Let Die: The SF and Fantasy of 2014 by Adam Roberts
  • “Time Pieces: Doctor Change or Doctor Die” by Nina Allen (Interzone 261)
  • Letters to Tiptree by Alisa Krasnostein and Alexandra Pierce
  • “What Price Your Critical Agency” by Jonathan McClamont (Ruthless Culture)
  • “From Annihilation to Acceptance: A Writer’s Surreal Journey” by Jeff VanderMeer (The Atlantic, January 2015)


Best Artwork:

  • WINNER: Jim Burns, Cover of Pelquin’s Comet
  • Vincent Sammy, “Songbird”, Interzone257
  • Wayne Haag, “Bus Stop”, Interzone253
  • Sarah Anne Langton, Cover of Jews Versus Zombies


The BSFA Awards are the premiere British science fiction literary awards, voted on by the fans.  According to the British Science Fiction Association website, they “not only seek to honour the most worthy examples in each category, but to promote the genre of science fiction, and get people reading, talking about and enjoying all that contemporary science fiction has to offer.”

We at LitStack heartily congratulate all the winners and nominees!