2015 British Fantasy Awards Shortlists Announced

The 2015 British Fantasy Awards shortlists have been announced!  Are any of your favorites nominated?


British Fantasy Assn logo

The Robert Holdstock Award for Best Fantasy Novel

  • Breed by KT Davies
  • City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett
  • Cuckoo Song by Frances Hardinge
  • A Man Lies Dreaming by Lavie Tidhar
  • The Moon King by Neil Williamson
  • The Relic Guild by Edward Cox


The August Derleth Award for Best Horror Novel

  • The End by Gary McMahon
  • The Girl With All the Gifts by M.R. Carey
  • The Last Plague by Rich Hawkins
  • No One Gets Out Alive by Adam Nevill
  • Station Eleven by Emily St John Mandel
  • The Unquiet House by Alison Littlewood


Best Novella

  • Cold Turkey by Carole Johnstone
  • Drive by Mark West
  • Newspaper Heart by Stephen Volk
  • Water For Drowning by Ray Cluley


Best Short Story

  • “A Change of Heart” by Gaie Sebold (Wicked Women)
  • “The Girl on the Suicide Bridge” by J.A. Mains (Beside the Seaside)
  • “Ptichka” by Laura Mauro (Horror Uncut: Tales of Social Insecurity and Economic Unease)
  • “A Woman’s Place” by Emma Newman (Two Hundred and Twenty-One Baker Streets)


Best Comic/Graphic Novel

  • Cemetery Girl by Charlaine Harris, Christopher Golden and Don Kramer
  • Grandville Noël by Bryan Talbot
  • Saga by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples
  • Seconds by Bryan Lee O’Malley
  • Through the Woods by Emily Carroll
  • The Wicked + The Divine by Kieron Gillen and Jamie McKelvie


Best Anthology

  • The Alchemy Press Book of Urban Mythic 2, edited by Jan Edwards and Jenny Barber
  • Horror Uncut: Tales of Social Insecurity and Economic Unease, edited by Joel Lane and Tom Johnstone
  • Lightspeed: Women Destroy Science Fiction Special Issue, edited Christie Yant
  • The Spectral Book of Horror Stories, edited by Mark Morris
  • Terror Tales of Wales, edited by Paul Finch


Best Collection

  • Black Gods Kiss by Lavie Tidhar
  • The Bright Day Is Done by Carole Johnstone
  • Gifts for the One Who Comes After by Helen Marshall
  • Nick Nightmare Investigates by Adrian Cole
  • Scruffians! Stories of Better Sodomites by Hal Duncan


Best Non-Fiction

  • The Dreamcatcher Real-Time Reviews by D.F. Lewis
  • Ginger Nuts of Horror, edited by Jim McLeod
  • Letters to Arkham: The Letters of Ramsey Campbell and August Derleth, 1961–1971, edited by S.T. Joshi
  • Rhapsody: Notes on Strange Fictions by Hal Duncan
  • Sibilant Fricative: Essays & Reviews by Adam Roberts
  • Touchstones: Essays on the Fantastic by John Howard
  • You Are the Hero: A History of Fighting Fantasy Gamebooks by Jonathan Green


Best Artist

  • Ben Baldwin
  • Vincent Chong
  • Les Edwards
  • Sarah Anne Langton
  • Karla Ortiz
  • Daniele Serra (his work is at the top of this page)


Best Film/Television Episode

  • Birdman: Or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), Alejandro González Iñárritu
  • Black Mirror: White Christmas, Charlie Brooker
  • Guardians of the Galaxy, James Gunn and Nicole Perlman
  • Interstellar, Christopher Nolan and Jonathan Nolan
  • Under the Skin, Walter Campbell and Jonathan Glazer


Best Independent Press

  • The Alchemy Press (Peter Coleborn)
  • Fox Spirit Books (Adele Wearing)
  • NewCon Press (Ian Whates)
  • Spectral Press (Simon Marshall-Jones)


Best Magazine/Periodical

  • Black Static, Andy Cox, editor
  • Holdfast Magazine, Laurel Sills and Lucy Smee, editors
  • Interzone, Andy Cox, editor
  • Lightspeed, John Joseph Adams, editor
  • Sein und Werden, Rachel Kendall, editor


The Sydney J. Bounds Award for Best Newcomer

  • Edward Cox, for The Relic Guild
  • Sarah Lotz, for The Three
  • Laura Mauro, for “Ptichka” (Horror Uncut: Tales of Social Insecurity and Economic Unease)
  • Den Patrick, for The Boy with the Porcelain Blade
  • Jen Williams, for The Copper Promise


The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on Sunday, 25 October 2015, at FantasyCon 2015 in Nottingham.

Congratulations to all the nominees!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.