2015 Arthur C. Clarke Award Shortlist Announced

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is given for the best science fiction novel first published in the ArthurCClarkeAwardsLogoUnited Kingdom during the previous year. The award was established with a grant given by Sir Arthur C. Clarke and the first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale.*  Last year’s winner was Ancillary Justice, the debut novel from Ann Leckie.

The shortlisted nominees for the 2015 Arthur C. Clarke Award have just been announced, and a fine slate of works they are!  They include:

Award Director Tom Hunter said of this year’s nominees:

“This is a quintessentially Clarke Award kind of a shortlist of exactly the sort that we’ve become known for over the years and always love to celebrate. Congratulations to all of our shortlisted authors, their publishing teams and, of course, a big thank you to everyone on our judging panel this year.

“We’ve got six authors who have never been nominated for the Clarke Award before and while the subject matter may often be dark, when we think about what this list says about the strength of science fiction literature itself, I see a future that’s full of confidence, creativity and diversity of imagination.”

The winner will be announced on May 6 in a ceremony held in London, leading up to the SCI-FI-LONDON Film Festival.

Congratulations to all the nominees!

* From the Arthur C. Clarke Award website.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.