2014 World Fantasy Awards Announced

The World Fantasy Convention was held this past weekend in Washington, DC, and a highlight WFCwas Sunday night’s banquet where the winners of the World Fantasy Awards were announced.  Also celebrated were the winners of the WFC’s Life Achievement Award:  historical horror author Chelsea Quinn Yarbro, and editor and anthologist extraordinaire Ellen Datlow.

Unlike the Hugos and the Nebulas (the other two “big” awards in the genre of fantasy fiction) the World Fantasy Awards, which have been bestowed since 1975, are determined by a panel of judges.  This year’s judges were Andy Duncan, Kij Johnson, Oliver Johnson, John Klima, and Liz Williams.

Here is the list of winners and nominees for the 2014 World Fantasy Awards.  Congratulations to all!



  • Winner:  Andy Duncan & Ellen Klages, “Wakulla Springs”
  • Caitlín R. Kiernan, Black Helicopters
  • KJ Parker, “The Sun and I”
  • Veronica Schanoes, “Burning Girls”
  • Catherynne M. Valente, Six-Gun Snow White

Short Story

  • Winner:  Caitlín R. Kiernan, “The Prayer of Ninety Cats”
  • Thomas Olde Heuvelt, “The Ink Readers of Doi Saket”
  • Yoon Ha Lee, “Effigy Nights”
  • Sofia Samatar, “Selkie Stories Are for Losers”
  • Rachel Swirsky, “If You Were a Dinosaur, My Love”


  • Winner:  George R.R. Martin and Gardner Dozois, eds. – Dangerous Women 
  • Kate Bernheimer, ed. – xo Orpheus: Fifty New Myths
  • Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling, eds. – Queen Victoria’s Book of Spells: An Anthology of Gaslamp Fantasy
  • Stephen Jones, ed. – Flotsam Fantastique: The Souvenir Book of World Fantasy Convention 2013
  • Jonathan Oliver, ed. – End of the Road: An Anthology of Original Short Stories
  • Jonathan Strahan, ed. – Fearsome Journeys: The New Solaris Book of Fantasy


  • Winner:  Caitlín R. Kiernan, The Ape’s Wife and Other Stories 
  • Nathan Ballingrud, North American Lake Monsters: Stories
  • Laird Barron, The Beautiful Thing That Awaits Us All and Other Stories
  • Reggie Oliver, Flowers of the Sea
  • Rachel Swirsky, How the World Became Quiet: Myths of the Past, Present, and Future


  • Winner:  Charles Vess
  • Galen Dara
  • Zelda Devon
  • Julie Dillon
  • John Picacio

Special Award—Professional

Special Award—Non-professional

  • Winner:  Kate Baker, Neil Clarke & Sean Wallace, for Clarkesworld
  • Scott H. Andrews, for Beneath Ceaseless Skies
  • Marc Aplin, for Fantasy-Faction
  • Leslie Howle, for Clarion West administration
  • Jerad Walters, for Centipede Press



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.