2014 Nebula Awards Nominees Announced

The nominees for the 2014 Nebula Awards were announced last week, along with nominees Nebula logofor the Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation and the Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy.  The Nebula Awards considered one of the premier genre literary awards, are presented by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA), and are voted on by active members of the SFWA.  The award winners will be announce during the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America’s 50th Annual Nebula Awards Weekend, to be held from June 4th – 7th in Chicago, Illinois.

Congratulations to all the nominees!

Best Novel
The Goblin Emperor, Katherine Addison
Trial by Fire, Charles E. Gannon
Ancillary Sword, Ann Leckie
The Three-Body Problem, Cixin Liu, translated by Ken Liu
Coming Home, Jack McDevitt
Annihilation, Jeff VanderMeer

Best Novella

We Are All Completely Fine, Daryl Gregory
Yesterday’s Kin, Nancy Kress
“The Regular,” Ken Liu
“The Mothers of Voorhisville,” Mary Rickert
Calendrical Regression, Lawrence Schoen
“Grand Jeté (The Great Leap),” Rachel Swirsky

Best Novelette

“Sleep Walking Now and Then,” Richard Bowes
“The Magician and Laplace’s Demon,” Tom Crosshill
“A Guide to the Fruits of Hawai’i,” Alaya Dawn Johnson
“The Husband Stitch,” Carmen Maria Machado
“We Are the Cloud,” Sam J. Miller
“The Devil in America,” Kai Ashante Wilson

Best Short Story

“The Breath of War,” Aliette de Bodard
“When It Ends, He Catches Her,” Eugie Foster
“The Meeker and the All-Seeing Eye,” Matthew Kressel
“The Vaporization Enthalpy of a Peculiar Pakistani Family,” Usman T. Malik
“A Stretch of Highway Two Lanes Wide,” Sarah Pinsker
“Jackalope Wives,” Ursula Vernon
“The Fisher Queen,” Alyssa Wong

Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), Written by Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr. & Armando Bo
Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Screenplay by Christopher Markus & Stephen McFeely
Edge of Tomorrow, Screenplay by Christopher McQuarrie and Jez Butterworth and John-Henry Butterworth
Guardians of the Galaxy, Written by James Gunn and Nicole Perlman
Interstellar, Written by Jonathan Nolan and Christopher Nolan
The Lego Movie, Screenplay by Phil Lord & Christopher Miller

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy

Unmade, Sarah Rees Brennan
Salvage, Alexandra Duncan
Love Is the Drug, Alaya Dawn Johnson
Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future, A.S. King
Dirty Wings, Sarah McCarry
Greenglass House, Kate Milford
The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender, Leslye Walton

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.