2014 British Fantasy Awards Announced

The 2014 British Fantasy Awards were handed out on Sunday, September 7 at FantasyCon British Fantasy Assn logo2014, held in York, England.  The nominees in each category were decided by the voters of the British Fantasy Society (and those who had attended FantasyCon 2012 and/or 2013), with jury members in each category having discretion to add up to two further entries if they felt there had been an obvious oversight.

The list of nominees and winners are as follows:

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)
WINNER:  A Stranger in Olondria by Sofia Samatar
Between Two Thorns by Emma Newman
Blood and Feathers: Rebellion by Lou Morgan
The Glass Republic by Tom Pollock
The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)
WINNER:  The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes
House of Small Shadows by Adam Nevill
Mayhem by Sarah Pinborough
NOS4R2 by Joe Hill
Path of Needles by Alison Littlewood
The Year of the Ladybird by Graham Joyce

Best Novella
WINNER:  Beauty by Sarah Pinborough
Dogs With Their Eyes Shut by Paul Meloy
Spin by Nina Allan
Vivian Guppy and the Brighton Belle by Nina Allan
Whitstable by Stephen Volk

Best Short Story
WINNER:  “Signs of the Times” by Carole Johnstone (Black Static #33)
“Chalk” by Pat Cadigan (This Is Horror)
“Death Walks En Pointe” by Thana Niveau (The Burning Circus)
“Family Business” by Adrian Tchaikovsky (The Alchemy Press Book of Urban Mythic)
“The Fox” by Conrad Williams (This Is Horror)
“Golden Apple” by Sophia McDougall (The Lowest Heaven)
“Moonstruck” by Karin Tidbeck (Shadows & Tall Trees #5)

Best Collection
WINNER:  Monsters in the Heart by Stephen Volk
For Those Who Dream Monsters by Anna Taborska
Holes for Faces by Ramsey Campbell
North American Lake Monsters by Nathan Ballingrud

Best Anthology
WINNER:  End of the Road, edited by Jonathan Oliver
Fearie Tales, edited by Stephen Jones
Rustblind and Silverbright, edited by David Rix
Tales of Eve, edited by Mhairi Simpson
The Tenth Black Book of Horror, edited by Charles Black

Best Small Press
WINNER:  The Alchemy Press
Fox Spirit Books
NewCon Press
Spectral Press

Best Non-Fiction
WINNER:  Speculative Fiction 2012, edited by Justin Landon and Jared Shurin
Gestalt Real-Time Reviews by D.F. Lewis
Doors to Elsewhere by Mike Barrett
Fantasy Faction, edited by Marc Aplin
“‘We Have Always Fought’: Challenging the ‘Women, Cattle and Slaves’ Narrative” by Kameron Hurley

Best Magazine/Periodical
WINNER:  Clarkesworld, edited by Neil Clarke, Sean Wallace and Kate Baker
Black Static, edited by Andy Cox
Interzone, edited by Andy Cox
Shadows & Tall Trees, edited by Michael Kelly

Best Comic/Graphic Novel
WINNER:  Demeter by Becky Cloonan
Jennifer Wilde by Maura McHugh, Karen Mahoney and Stephen Downey
Porcelain by Benjamin Read and Chris Wildgoose
Rachel Rising by Terry Moore
Saga by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples
The Unwritten by Mike Carey and Peter Gross

Best Artist
WINNER:  Joey Hi-Fi
Adam Oehlers
Ben Baldwin
Daniele Serra
Tula Lotay
Vincent Chong

A sample of Joey Hi-Fi's artwork
A sample of Joey Hi-Fi’s artwork

Best Film/Television Episode
WINNER:  Game of Thrones -“The Rains of Castamere” by David Benioff and D.B. Weiss
Doctor Who – “The Day of the Doctor” by Steven Moffat
Gravity by Alfonso Cuarón and Jonás Cuarón
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug by Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens, Peter Jackson and Guillermo del Toro
Iron Man 3 by Drew Pearce and Shane Black

Best Newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award)
WINNER:  Ann Leckie, for Ancillary Justice
Emma Newman, for Between Two Thorns
Francis Knight, for Fade to Black
Laura Lam, for Pantomime
Libby McGugan, for The Eidolon
Samantha Shannon, for The Bone Season

The British Fantasy Society Special Award (The Karl Edward Wagner Award): Farah Mendlesohn

Congratulations to all the nominees and winners!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.