World Fantasy Awards 2015 Ballot Announced

World Fantasy Award trophy - the "Howard"
World Fantasy Award trophy – the “Howard”

The final ballot for the 2015 World Fantasy Awards was just announced; trophies for the winners will be handed out during the World Fantasy Convention, to be held November 5 – 8 in Sarasota Springs, New York.

The World Fantasy Awards were established in 1975.  Each year, a longlist of nominees is determined by a panel of judges and members of the World Fantasy Convention, with the judges then picking the ultimate winners.  This year’s judges include Gemma Files, Nina Kiriki Hoffman, Bénédicte Lombardo, Bruce McAllister and Robert Shearman.

The finalists on the 2015 ballot include:




  • We Are All Completely Fine by Daryl Gregory
  • “Where the Trains Turn” by Pasi Ilmari Jääskeläinen (, Nov. 19, 2014)
  • “Hollywood North” by Michael Libling (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, Nov./Dec. 2014)
  • “The Mothers of Voorhisville” by Mary Rickert (, Apr. 30, 2014)
  • “Grand Jeté (The Great Leap)” by Rachel Swirsky (Subterranean Press magazine, Summer 2014)


Short Story

  • “I Can See Right Through You” by Kelly Link (McSweeney’s 48)
  • Do You Like to Look at Monsters? by Scott Nicolay
  • “Death’s Door Café” by Kaaron Warren (Shadows & Tall Trees 2014)
  • “The Devil in America” by Kai Ashante Wilson (, April 2, 2014)
  • “The Fisher Queen,” by Alyssa Wong, (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, May/June 2014)



  • Fearful Symmetries, edited by Ellen Datlow
  • Rogues, edited by George R. R. Martin and Gardner Dozois
  • Long Hidden: Speculative Fiction from the Margins of History, edited by Rose Fox and Daniel José Older
  • Shadows & Tall Trees 2014, edited by Michael Kelly
  • Monstrous Affections: An Anthology of Beastly Tales, edited by Kelly Link and Gavin J. Grant



  • Mercy and Other Stories by Rebecca Lloyd
  • Gifts for the One Who Comes After by Helen Marshall
  • They Do the Same Things Different There by Robert Shearman
  • The Bitterwood Bible and Other Recountings by Angela Slatter
  • Death at the Blue Elephant by Janeen Webb



  • Samuel Araya
  • Galen Dara
  • Jeffrey Alan Love
  • Erik Mohr
  • John Picacio


Samuel Araya
Samuel Araya


Galen Dara
Galen Dara


Jeffrey Alan Love
Jeffrey Alan Love








Erik Mohr
Erik Mohr
John Picacio
John Picacio










Special Award—Professional

  • John Joseph Adams, for editing anthologies and Nightmare and Fantasy magazines
  • Jeanne Cavelos, for Odyssey Writing workshops
  • Sandra Kasturi and Brett Alexander Savory, for ChiZine Publications
  • Gordon Van Gelder, for The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction
  • Jerad Walters, for Centipede Press


Special Award—Non-professional

  • Scott H. Andrews, for Beneath Ceaseless Skies: Literary Adventure Fantasy
  • Matt Cardin, for Born to Fear: Interviews with Thomas Ligotti
  • Stefan Fergus, for Civilian Reader
  • Ray B. Russell and Rosalie Parker, for Tartarus Press
  • Patrick Swenson, for Fairwood Press


In addition, two Lifetime Achievement Award winners had been announced earlier.  They are Ramsey Campbell (English horror fiction writer, editor and critic who has been writing for well over fifty years) and Sheri S. Tepper (an American writer of science fiction, horror and mystery novels, known for feminist science fiction, often with an ecofeminist slant).

Congratulations to all the nominees!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.