Winners of the 2016 Locus Awards

This past weekend, the Locus Science Fiction Foundation announced the recipients of its 2016 Locus Awards during locussocialsharethe Locus Awards Weekend held in Seattle, Washington.  Named after the monthly science fiction and fantasy magazine, the Locus Awards are now in their 45th year; winners are determined by an online survey of readers.

This year’s Locus Award winners are:




  • WINNER: Uprooted by Naomi Novik
  • Karen Memory by Elizabeth Bear
  • The House of Shattered Wings by Aliette de Bodard
  • Wylding Hall by Elizabeth Hand
  • The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin



  • WINNER: The Shepherd’s Crown by Terry Pratchett
  • Half a War by Joe Abercrombie
  • Half the World by Joe Abercrombie
  • Harrison Squared by Daryl Gregory
  • Shadowshaper by Daniel José Older



  • WINNER: The Grace of Kings by Ken Liu
  • Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho
  • Signal to Noise by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
  • The Watchmaker of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley
  • The Sorcerer of the Wildeeps by Kai Ashante Wilson



  • WINNER: Slow Bullets by Alastair Reynolds
  • Penric’s Demon by Lois McMaster Bujold
  • “The Citadel of Weeping Pearls” by Aliette de Bodard (Asimov’s 10-11/15)
  • “The Four Thousand, the Eight Hundred” by Greg Egan (Asimov’s 12/15)
  • Binti by Nnedi Okorafor



  • WINNER: “Black Dog” by Neil Gaiman (Trigger Warning)
  • “The Heart’s Filthy Lesson” by Elizabeth Bear (Old Venus)
  • “And You Shall Know Her by the Trail of Dead” by Brooke Bolander (Lightspeed 2/15)
  • “Folding Beijing” by Hao Jingfang (Uncanny 1-2/15)
  • “Another Word for World” by Ann Leckie (Future Visions)



  • WINNER: “Cat Pictures Please” by Naomi Kritzer (Clarkesworld 1/15)
  • “Three Cups of Grief, by Starlight” by Aliette de Bodard (Clarkesworld 1/15)
  • “Madeleine”by Amal El-Mohtar (Lightspeed 6/15)
  • “The Dowager of Bees” by China Miéville (Three Moments of an Explosion)
  • “Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers” by Alyssa Wong (Nightmare 10/15)



  • WINNER: Old Venus, edited by George R.R. Martin & Gardner Dozois
  • The Year’s Best Science Fiction: Thirty-second Annual Collection, edited by Gardner Dozois
  • Hanzai Japan: Fantastical, Futuristic Stories of Crime From and About Japan, edited by Nick Mamatas and Masumi Washington
  • Stories for Chip: A Tribute to Samuel R. Delany, edited by Nisi Shawl and Bill Campbell
  • Meeting Infinity, edited by Jonathan Strahan



  • WINNER: Trigger Warning: Short Fictions and Disturbances by Neil Gaiman
  • The Best of Gregory Benford by Gregory Benford
  • The Best of Nancy Kress by Nancy Kress
  • Dancing Through the Fire by Tanith Lee
  • Three Moments of an Explosion by China Miéville



  • WINNER: Asimov’s
  • Clarkesworld
  • F&SF
  • File 770



  • WINNER: Tor
  • Baen
  • Gollancz
  • Orbit
  • Subterranean



  • WINNER: David G. Hartwell
  • John Joseph Adams
  • Ellen Datlow
  • Gardner Dozois
  • Jonathan Strahan



  • WINNER: Michael Whelan
  • Galen Dara
  • Julie Dillon
  • Bob Eggleton
  • John Picacio



  • WINNER: Letters to Tiptree, edited by Alisa Krasnostein and Alexandra Pierce
  • The Culture Series of Iain M. Banks by Simone Caroti
  • Lois McMaster Bujold by Edward James
  • Frederik Pohl by Michael R. Page
  • Ray Bradbury by David Seed



  • WINNER:  Julie Dillon’s Imagined Realms, Book 2: Earth and Sky by Julie Dillon
  • Women of Wonder: Celebrating Women Creators of Fantastic Art, edited by Cathy Fenner
  • Spectrum 22: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art, edited by John Fleskes
  • Edward Gorey: His Book Cover Art & Design, edited by Steven Heller
  • The Fantasy Illustration Library, Volume One: Lands & Legends, edited by Malcolm R. Phifer and Michael C. Phifer


Congratulations to all the winners and nominees!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.