Currently browsing

Page 2

brian wednesday

LitStack Recs: Desperate Characters & The Master Butcher’s Singing Club

Desperate Characters, by Paula Fox. This classic of literary fiction, written in 1970, is also a classic example of a book that was lost to readers, then found. In 1999, when this novel—and all Paula Fox’s adult novels—fell out of print, interest in the author and her work was almost …


Hugo Award Winners Announced

The 2014 Hugo Award winners were announced on August 17 in a ceremony at the World Science Fiction Convention held in London, …

Short Story, Long Revision

It is a truth universally acknowledged that a short story takes less time to write than a novel. With apologies to Jane …