Nominees for the 2014 National Book Award for Nonfiction Announced

Natl Book Foundation logo

On Wednesday the National Book Foundation announced its nominees for the 2014 National Book Award for Nonfiction.  (This list has already garnered a bit of controversy, as only one of the ten nominees was written by a woman.)  Finalists will be revealed on October 15, with the winner named on November 19.

The nominees include:

  • Roz Chast for the memoir Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant?
  • John Demos for The Heathen School: A Story of Hope and Betrayal in the Age of the Early Republic
  • Anand Gopal for No Good Men Among the Living: America, the Taliban, and the War through Afghan Eyes
  • Nigel Hamilton for The Mantle of Command: FDR at War, 1941 – 1942
  • Walter Isaacson for The Innovators: How a Group of Inventors, Hackers, Geniuses, and Geeks Created the Digital Revolution
  • John Lahr for Tennessee Williams: Mad Pilgrimage of the Flesh
  • Evan Osnos for Age of Ambition: Chasing Fortune, Truth, and Faith in the New China
  • Ronald C. Rosbottom for When Paris Went Dark: The City of Light Under German Occupation, 1940-1944
  • Matthew Stewart for Nature’s God: The Heretical Origins of the American Republic
  • Edward O. Wilson for The Meaning of Human Existence

Later today, the nominees for Fiction should be revealed.  Congratulations to all!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.