Inaugural James Herbert Awards Shortlist Announced

James Herbert, who died in 2013, was a beloved British horror and dark fantasy writer who James Herbert Award logowas appointed Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) in 2010 by Prince Charles, as well as collecting that year’s World Horror Convention Grand Master Award.

In celebration of his life and career, Pan Macmillan and the James Herbert estate launched The James Herbert Award for Horror Writing, with the aim of discovering and publicizing a new generation of horror authors working today, and celebrating the boldest and most exciting talent in the genre. The award is open horror novels written in English and published in the UK and Ireland, and comes with a cash award and specially-designed commemorative statuette.

The shortlist of finalists for the inaugural James Herbert Award for Horror Writing was announced on Thursday, January 29, and includes the following titles:

  • The Girl with All the Gifts by M.R. Carey
  • The Troop by Nick Cutter
  • Cuckoo Song by Frances Hardinge
  • The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley
  • Bird Box by Josh Malerman
  • An English Ghost Story by Kim Newman

The winner will be announced at a banquet to be held in March 2015.  Congratulations to all the finalists!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.