Hugo Award Winners Announced

The 2014 Hugo Award winners were announced on August 17 in a ceremony at the World hugo-awardsScience Fiction Convention held in London, England – and this year, women took home half the statues, including a couple of friends of LitStack!

The Hugos (named after Hugo Gernsback, the founder of the pioneering science fiction magazine Amazing Stories), are awarded annually for the best science fiction or fantasy works of the previous year.  Established in 1953 and awarded continuously since 1955, they are one of the oldest and are considered by many to be the most prestigious awards given to science fiction writers, artists, editors and collaborators.

The 2014 nominees and winners are:


  • Winner: Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie
  • Neptune’s Brood by Charles Stross
  • Parasite by Mira Grant
  • Warbound, Book III of the Grimnoir Chronicles by Larry Correia
  • The Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson


  • Winner: “Equoid” by Charles Stross
  • The Butcher of Khardov by Dan Wells
  • “The Chaplain’s Legacy” by Brad Torgersen
  • Six-Gun Snow White by Catherynne M. Valente
  • “Wakulla Springs” by Andy Duncan and Ellen Klages


  • Winner: “The Lady Astronaut of Mars” by Mary Robinette Kowal
  • “Opera Vita Aeterna” by Vox Day
  • “The Exchange Officers” by Brad Torgersen
  • “The Truth of Fact, the Truth of Feeling” by Ted Chiang
  • “The Waiting Stars” by Aliette de Bodard


  • Winner: “The Water That Falls on You from Nowhere” by John Chu
  • “If You Were a Dinosaur, My Love” by Rachel Swirsky
  • “The Ink Readers of Doi Saket” by Thomas Olde Heuvelt
  • “Selkie Stories Are for Losers” by Sofia Samatar


  • Winner: We Have Always Fought: Challenging the Women, Cattle and Slaves Narrative by Kameron Hurley
  • Queers Dig Time Lords: A Celebration of Doctor Who by the LGBTQ Fans Who Love It, edited by Sigrid Ellis and Michael Damien Thomas
  • Speculative Fiction 2012: The Best Online Reviews, Essays and Commentary by Justin Landon and Jared Shurin
  • Wonderbook: The Illustrated Guide to Creating Imaginative Fiction by Jeff VanderMeer with Jeremy Zerfoss
  • Writing Excuses Season 8 by Brandon Sanderson, Dan Wells, Mary Robinette Kowal, Howard Tayler and Jordan Sanderson


  • Winner: Time by Randall Munroe (XKCD)
  • Girl Genius Vol 13: Agatha Heterodyne & The Sleeping City, written by Phil and Kaja Foglio; art by Phil Foglio; colors by Cheyenne Wright (Airship Entertainment)
  • “The Girl Who Loved Doctor Who”, written by Paul Cornell, illustrated by Jimmy Broxton (Doctor Who Special 2013, IDW)
  • The Meathouse Man, adapted from the story by George R.R. Martin and illustrated by Raya Golden (Jet City Comics)
  • Saga Vol 2, written by Brian K. Vaughn, illustrated by Fiona Staples (Image Comics )


  • Winner: Gravity, written by Alfonso Cuarón and Jonás Cuarón; directed by Alfonso Cuarón
  • Frozen, screenplay by Jennifer Lee; directed by Chris Buck and Jennifer Lee
  • The Hunger Games: Catching Fire, screenplay by Simon Beaufoy and Michael Arndt; directed by Francis Lawrence
  • Iron Man 3, screenplay by Drew Pearce and Shane Black; directed by Shane Black
  • Pacific Rim, screenplay by Travis Beacham and Guillermo del Toro; directed by Guillermo del Toro


  • Winner: Game of Thrones: “The Rains of Castamere”, written by David Benioff and D.B. Weiss; directed by David Nutter
  • An Adventure in Space and Time, written by Mark Gatiss; directed by Terry McDonough
  • Doctor Who: “The Day of the Doctor”, written by Steven Moffat, directed by Nick Hurran
  • Doctor Who: “The Name of the Doctor”, written by Steven Moffat, directed by Saul Metzstein
  • The Five(ish) Doctors Reboot, written and directed by Peter Davison
  • Orphan Black: “Variations under Domestication”, written by Will Pascoe; directed by John Fawcett


  • Winner: Ellen Datlow
  • John Joseph Adams
  • Neil Clarke
  • Jonathan Strahan
  • Sheila Williams


  • Winner: Ginjer Buchanan
  • Sheila Gilbert
  • Liz Gorinsky
  • Lee Harris
  • Toni Weisskopf


  • Winner: Julie Dillon
  • Galen Dara
  • Daniel Dos Santos
  • John Harris
  • John Picacio
  • Fiona Staples


  • Winner: Lightspeed Magazine, edited by John Joseph Adams, Rich Horton and Stefan Rudnicki
  • Apex Magazine, edited by Lynne M. Thomas, Jason Sizemore and Michael Damian Thomas
  • Beneath Ceaseless Skies, edited by Scott H. Andrews
  • Interzone, edited by Andy Cox
  • Strange Horizons, edited by Niall Harrison, Brit Mandelo, An Owomoyela, Julia Rios, Sonya Taaffe, Abigail Nussbaum, Rebecca Cross, Anaea Lay and Shane Gavin


  • Winner: A Dribble of Ink, edited by Aidan Moher
  • The Book Smugglers, edited by Ana Grilo and Thea James
  • Elitist Book Reviews, edited by Steven Diamond
  • Journey Planet, edited by James Bacon, Christopher J Garcia, Lynda E. Rucker, Pete Young, Colin Harris and Helen J. Montgomery
  • Pornokitsch, edited by Anne C. Perry and Jared Shurin


  • Winner: SF Signal Podcast, Patrick Hester
  • The Coode Street Podcast, Jonathan Strahan and Gary K. Wolfe
  • Doctor Who: Verity!, Deborah Stanish, Erika Ensign, Katrina Griffiths, L.M. Myles, Lynne M. Thomas and Tansy Rayner Roberts
  • Galactic Suburbia Podcast, Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce, Tansy Rayner Roberts and Andrew Finch
  • The Skiffy and Fanty Show, Shaun Duke, Jen Zink, Julia Rios, Paul Weimer, David Annandale, Mike Underwood and Stina Leicht
  • Tea and Jeopardy, Emma Newman
  • The Writer and the Critic, Kirstyn McDermott and Ian Mond


  • Winner: Kameron Hurley
  • Liz Bourke
  • Foz Meadows
  • Abigail Nussbaum
  • Mark Oshiro


  • Winner: Sarah Webb
  • Brad W. Foster
  • Mandie Manzano
  • Spring Schoenhuth
  • Steve Stiles

JOHN W. CAMPBELL AWARD FOR BEST NEW WRITER – Award for the best new professional science fiction or fantasy writer of 2012 or 2013, sponsored by Dell Magazines (not a Hugo Award)

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.