Coming to the Stacks: New Deals for April 2013

Fictionopen-book

Jeannette de Beauvoir’s ASYLUM, in the Martine LeDuc series, in which a string of murders in Montreal are linked to a dark era in Canada’s past when children were sent from orphanages to asylums, and only the city’s public relations director can uncover the truth, to Kate Ottaviano at St. Martin’s, in a nice deal, in a two-book deal, for publication in 2014, by Lukas Ortiz at the Philip Spitzer Literary Agency (World).

________________________________________________________

Rights to Edgar-nominated author of Ben Winters’s THE LAST POLICEMAN and THE LAST POLICEMAN Book 2: Countdown City, to Heyne in Germany, by Michael Meller Literary Agency, Tekin in Turkey, by AnatoliaLit, Sonatine in France, by Sea of Stories, Hayakawa in Japan, by Japan UNI, Triton in the Czech Republic, by DS Rights, and Nexus in Korea, in a nice deal, in a three-book deal, by Eric Yang Agency.

________________________________________________________

John Florio’s BLIND MOON ALLEY, the second book in the Jersey Leo series, in which an albino bartender working at a Philadelphia speakeasy during Prohibition receives a request from a long lost friend to join him for his last meal before he faces execution for murder — an event that shatters his quiet life and sets him on a quest to uncover the truth about his friend’s crimes, again to Dan Mayer at Seventh Street, for publication in Spring 2014, by Elizabeth Evans at the Jean V. Naggar Literary Agency (NA).

________________________________________________________

Anne Montgomery’s tale of two strong women, a modern-day reporter as she battles ancient myths and grave robbers to prove the existence of 11th-Century Europeans in North America; and a latter-day Native American healer, who encounters a blue-eyed magician, whose presence in her camp both alarms and intrigues her people, to Celina Summers at Musa, by Gloria Koehler and Donna Eastman at Parkeast Literary (World).

________________________________________________________

Katie Clark’s debut ENSLAVED, when a girl’s mom is diagnosed with the mutation, she confesses to her daughter that she doesn’t know what will happen if she dies; a medic at the hospital implies there is Someone who can help – except religion’s been outlawed for the last hundred years, to Nicola Martinez at Watershed, in a three-book deal, by Terry Burns at Hartline Literary Agency.

________________________________________________________

Assaf Gavron’s THE HILLTOP, set in a fictional West Bank settlement, about the lives and follies of its residents, the Israeli soldiers who guard it, and their wary Palestinian neighbors, moving to Paul Whitlatch at Scribner, by Susan Golomb at the Susan Golomb Agency (NA).

________________________________________________________

2013 Booker Prize judge and book reviewer Natalie Haynes’s debut THE AMBER FURY, about a young woman who moves to Edinburgh after her fiancee dies unexpectedly, where she teaches a group of troubled teenagers the Greek tragedies– but in the numbness of her bereavement she has little idea how deeply they will take the themes of revenge, retribution and fate, until it’s too late, to Hilary Rubin Teeman at St. Martin’s, at auction, for publication in 2014, by Patrick Walsh at Conville & Walsh (US).

________________________________________________________

Natalie Lloyd’s debut A SNICKER OF MAGIC, about a twelve-year-old girl who moves to a Southern mountain town, sets out to break a century-old curse, bring back a forgotten magic, and finally find a home for her wandering heart, to Mallory Kass at Scholastic, in a very nice deal, at auction, in a two-book deal, for publication in spring 2014, by Suzie Townsend at New Leaf Literary & Media (world English).

Italian rights to Sperling, in a pre-empt, by Elena Benaglia at Luigi Bernabo Associates, German rights to Arsedition, by Friederike Biesel of Thomas Schlueck Agency in association with Kathleen Ortiz at New Leaf Literary & Media.

________________________________________________________

Katherine Grant’s SEDITION, pitched as in the vein of Sarah Water’s FINGERSMITH and Michael Faber’s CRIMSON PETAL AND THE WHITE, a dark, often humorous novel, about a group of young women whose nouveau riche parents arrange a piano concert to find the girls titled husbands, to Barbara Jones at Holt, in a pre-empt, for publication in Summer 2014, by Georgina Capel at Capel & Land (NA).

________________________________________________________

 

Nonfiction

 

Author of THE $12 MILLION STUFFED SHARK, Don Thompson’s THE SUPERMODEL AND THE BRILLO BOX: Backstories from the Curious World of Contemporary Art, a gossipy revealing second book about the art world, with fresh material about the Crash of 2008, the rise of China and the Gulf States, buying on the Internet, and new behind-the-scenes stories about artists, dealers and auction houses, to Karen Wolny at Palgrave, for publication in Spring 2014, by John Pearce at Westwood Creative Artists.

________________________________________________________

Adam Sobel’s STORM SURGE, an inquisitive look into super storm Sandy, examining the science behind the storm, its connections to our changing climate, and the implications for the future, to Karen Rinaldi at Harper Wave, by Coleen O’Shea at the Allen O’Shea Literary Agency.

________________________________________________________

NYT bestselling author of Unknown Pleasures Peter Hook’s final installment in his three-part memoir which explores his years in New Order, the band that rose from the ashes of Joy Division to become one of the most influential groups of the eighties and godfathers of EDM, and THE HACIENDA: How Not to Run a Club, his story of the infamous “Madchester” club that helped birth the rave scene, again to Denise Oswald at It Books, for publication in 2015, by Matthew Elblonk at DeFiore and Company (US).

________________________________________________________

NFL Hall of Famer and current ESPN analyst Jerry Rice’s take on the Super Bowl’s first half-century, telling the story through what he calls the greatest moments in football’s ultimate theater, taking readers down memory lane and talking to all the people involved – the players, coaches, broadcasters, and more, written with Randy Williams, to Mark Chait at It Books, by Jason Allen Ashlock at Movable Type Management (world English).

________________________________________________________

Bloomberg Businessweek staff writer Ashlee Vance’s THE IRON MAN: ELON MUSK’S QUEST TO FORGE A FANTASTIC FUTURE, looking at the renowned entrepreneur and innovator behind SpaceX, Tesla, and SolarCity, and the way he’s changing technology and shaping our lives, to Hilary Redmon at Ecco, at auction, by David Patterson at Foundry Literary + Media.
________________________________________________________
Lucinda Schroeder’s OPERATION MONSTER SLAYER: A Federal Undercover Agent’s Dramatic Quest to Recover Sacred Indian Artifacts, based on her investigation conducted from 1999-2001 in Santa Fe, New Mexico, the former FBI agent — a frequent guest on The Discovery Channel and other shows — describing how she went undercover and set up a sting operation to halt the smuggling and sale of $1 million in sacred Native American objects, to Erin Turner at Two Dot Books, for publication in fall 2014, by Linda Konner at Linda Konner Literary Agency (world English).
________________________________________________________

 

Authors of RUN LIKE A MOTHER and TRAIN LIKE A MOTHER Dimity McDowell Davs and Sarah Bowen Shea’s MOTHER RUNNERS, which shares stories of women balancing work and family life with their passion for running, to Lane Butler at Andrews McMeel, by Jane Dystel at Dystel & Goderich Literary Management (NA).

 

________________________________________________________

 

Tumblr blogger Curt Neil’s UNTITLED SCREENPLAYS, in which an unnamed screenwriter composes bits and pieces of screenplays, but can never make it beyond a few (humorously) hackneyed lines of a scene typically featuring dinosaurs or buddy cops, to Meg Leder at Perigee, at auction, by Hannah Brown Gordon at Foundry Literary + Media (NA).

________________________________________________________

Essence magazine bestselling author of All the Joy You Can Stand Debrena Jackson Gandy’s DON’T BUY THE LOVE LIES!: 10 Revelations to Blow Your Mind and Transform Your Relationships, the secrets from her Love Academy Seminars, discussing how flawed thinking harms many relationships, exposing the 10 most common Love Lies and steering readers towards more honesty in themselves and from their men, to Molly Koecher at Sunrise River Press, for publication in fall 2014, by Linda Konner at Linda Konner Literary Agency (world English).

Leave a Reply